OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

AH 495 - Senior Thesis in Art History

Book reviews
 Book reviews can be an excellent source for finding information on your topic, and scholars who are experts in the field.  

Choice Reviews Online provides book reviews from academic librarians and scholars.

Library Onesearch (search bar at the top of the screen) has a limit for content type "Book Reviews."  These do include journals that are tailored to K-12 librarians and educators, so note the journal title if you use this resource.

Both Art Full-Text and Art Bibliographies Modern also let you limit to reviews.
Find Articles and Books


Recommended article databases:

Art Full-Text
Art Bibliographies Modern
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (citation database only)
JSTOR

Arts and Humanities Citation Index  --see a scholar's citations back and forth in time.

Project Muse
Academic OneFile
Social Sciences Full-Text

Specialized Resources:
Museum websites 
Getty Provenance Index Database

ULAN - Union List of Artist Names (Getty)

Find books outside our library:
Worldcat
Choice Reviews Online (Book reviews)


Find Images
  • ARTstor Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
    ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. 
  • GoogleArtProject
Museum websites can also be excellent sources for images.

Choosing a thesis topic
The best place to start is to focus on what you are most drawn to: a particular image/object? an artist? a time period?  Once you have that, you can start asking questions and narrowing down to a question that you think would make a good project!
 
Good places to for basic information:
Oxford Art Online
Kresge Library Catalog (Try a "subject search" for your basic topic ideas, and browse books for inspiration)

Several books in the library provide strategies for research, such as Badke's Research Strategies.  
Mind mapping can also be very useful for thinking out your ideas and finding a direction.
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Assistant Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480

Schedule a research appointment: 

Ask A Librarian - IM


RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News