eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Arabic
Dictionaries
Print dictionaries at OU

Arabic Dictionary
Oxford-Duden pictorial English dictionary with English-Arabic index
Other English/Arabic dictionaries: Arabic language Dictionaries English.

Online dictionaries

Sakhr Arabic-English-Turkish-French dictionary
Your dictionary.com: list of free online Arabic dictionaries
Baheth: the most important Arabic dictionaries
Arabic-English dictionary by A. Salmone (via the Perseus Digital Library)

Find background information
History and culture
Country information
Literature
Find articles
Oxford Islamic Studies Online Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This resources encompasses over 3,500 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines.

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Contains 35 titles in Middle East studies.

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff has some interesting journals in Middle East studies.

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

MLA Bibliography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. How to export to RefWorks
Indexes publications about Arabic language literature and the Arabic language.

LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
LLBA contains abstracts and indexes to the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - current. 

Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies
A refereed journal covering all aspects of Islamic and Arabic studies, published by Edinburgh University Press.

Websites of interest

Glossary of Islamic terms and concepts


Aswaat Arabiyya
Great resource for listening exercises for students of Arabic, from beginners to advanced. Through the website users can download the Aswaat Arabiyya player, which then gives access to over 100 short video passages arranged into six levels of proficiency. Most of the videos are excerpts from television programmes from across the Arab world.

Arabic calligraphy
Information about the Arabic alphabet, with animation showing how to form the letters; also links to other information.

Arabic Keyboard
Online Arabic keyboard

Shamela: searchable collection of thousands of books in Arabic.

Translation
 
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Beyond Kresge Library

To request an item from another library:
 
MelCat (Michigan libraries)
or   
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
V-Arabic
Get the V-Arabic widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
Arab American National Museum

Loading ...

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian

Research Consultation
Request an individual session to get help with your research. You can expect the session within 2-3 days.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours by appt.

Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website