Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

African Art Pathfinder

Introduction

This pathfinder will list only web resources. For print sources and online periodical indexes see the Research Guide

Subject Heading in the catalog is Art Africa

Encyclopedias and Overviews

Grove Art Online - This is the place to explore your topic. You can search by topic or browse. Log off when done.

African Art Wiki essay

African Art - Short essays on several topics; probably more useful for the links. Covers:

Resources

African Studies - This is an outstanding collection of sites, alpha arranged. The range of topics is encyclopedic, everything from museums, exhibits to art forms.

The Arts of Africa - Extensive listing of sites. Arranged by chronology and by topic.

The Art of Africa - Use this for general resources such as timelines and online museum collections and exhibits. There is also a large collection of images.

Collecting African Art - This site covers museums and galleries specializing in African art, books and journal articles, and other online resources.

African Art on the Internet - This is an extensive collection of sites, alpha arranged.

African Art and History Links - This site covers university, museum and gallery sites and other esoteric links to masks, etc.

Modern African Art A Basic Reading List

Art and Life in Africa - This is an extensive listing of sites and here are some of the topics covered:

DVDs on African art

Photos of Ghana and Burkina Faso

Music of Burkina Faso

Streaming video of Ghana and Burkina Faso

Peoples of Africa

African countries

Search the Stanley Collection database

Resources for Art and Life CD-ROM

Links to related sites

Tribal African Art - Use the navigation bar to the left to locate a tribe.

Contemporary African Art from the Harmon Foundation - Good for country and artist information.

Warren M Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art - Covers:

 

Artlex - Contains many examples of African Art.

Voice of the Shuttle - This site is an extensive listing of general and specific sites.

Virtual Museum of Contemporary African Art - Links to artists, events, publications, museums, etc.

 

Images

Metropolitan Museum of Art

ARTstor
- Browse by subject or use search engine.

Google Images - This site will have more images than what you can look at in a lifetime. You can narrow it down by putting another word or phrase in the Google search box.

Traditional African Art - Covers masks, clothing, furniture, sculpture.

African Art Western Eyes - This site presents both images and narrative.

Art Images for College Teaching


 
 
  
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News