eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

BIO 305 - Histology
Databases
Medline via Web of Science Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

SEARCH TIPS:
  • to find all the forms of a word (truncation), use * (i.e., embryo* = embryo, embryonic)
  • to find the singular and/or plural of a word, use $ ( i.e. "stem cell$" = stem cell, stem cells)

Web of Science Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Databases listed by Subject

Using the search skills you learned in your library session, try out some of the databases listed here to find more articles on your topic.


Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!
Avoiding plagiarism

Kresge Library Plagiarism Tutorial

*****

Plagiarism is defined by the Modern Language Association (MLA) as "the use of another person's ideas, information, or expressions without acknowledging that person's work" [MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed., p. 66].

Examples of plagiarism include copying from a source word for word without citing the original source, as well as paraphrasing an author's words or even ideas withoutgiving appropriate credit.

Take a look at Oakland University's statement on plagiarism and academic dishonesty in the Oakland University Student Handbook.

Additional resources

Library Catalog
Kresge Library Catalog

Use the catalog to find books we have in the Kresge Library. Also use the catalog to see if we have access to a particular journal title online or in print.
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn Lombardo

Shawn Lombardo
Associate Professor
lombardo@oakland.edu
248.370.2493

GOOGLE TALK shawnvlombardo
OFFICE HOURS (Summer 2013) - email me for an appointment

Web of Science

Web of Science Article Search  

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have an item, you can request materials be sent to Kresge Library for you:

MelCat
MeLCat is a catalog of Michigan libraries, where you can place a request.
Illiad
Illiad is an interlibrary loan system, where you can fill out the details of the materials you want.
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website