OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Chinese

Learn Chinese
  Chinese language Readers at Kresge Library

Chinese language Textbooks for foreign speakers English

Chinese language Vocabulary.

Online Chinese Tools: Tools to assist people in learning and using the Chinese language: dictionaries, flashcards for Chinese characters, reference works, and much more.

The Wisdom of Chinese Characters: This 60-minute long, 10-episode series explains the charms of Chinese characters and links them to Chinese culture (in Chinese and/or English).

Dictionaries
China Gift Collection

China Gift Collection (located room 326-328 Kresge Library)

Over 400 contemporary books on China.

To search this collection in the catalog:
Choose "Advanced search" in the library catalog. In the "Location" option,  select "China Gift Collection" from the dropdown menu.

The collection has been made possible through the generosity of Opal Redman. Ms. Redman, a retired Detroit school teacher, went to China first in 1990 to train teachers of English and eventually coordinated the efforts of the SEHS Chinese Summer Language Institute at Guizhou Normal University in Giuyang, China for many years. She is the author of "The Ripple Effect" and co-author of "Change and Growth in the Oakland/Guizhou Program" in which she talks about her experiences with the Guizhou - Oakland partnership.

Find articles
Bibliography of Asian Studies Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This bibliography is comparable to the print Bibliography of Asian Studies. This source is an index to western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Coverage: 1971-present.

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.
Contains many titles in Chinese and Asian studies.

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Several journals about China.

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

China Information (journal)
"Presents timely and in-depth analyses of major developments in contemporary China and overseas Chinese communities in the areas of politics, economics, law, ecology, culture, and society, including literature and the arts."

China Report (journal)
"An indispensable source of information on China, its society and culture. The journal covers inter-related subject areas - economics, history, international relations, law, politics and sociology. In addition to research articles, the journal carries review articles, book reviews and a documents/speeches section."
Find images
ARTstor Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. You can browse by country and find images relating to Chinese arts, literature, science and technology, decorative arts, and more.

Historical Photographs of China
Large online collection of photos of China, taken by Europeans at the turn of the century.

Visualizing China
Over 8,000 digitized images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950.

Sidney D. Gamble Photographs
About 5,000 phtoographs of China taken by amateur photographer S. Gamble between 1917 and 1932.

A visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization
A selection of images illustrating major issue in Chinese studies.
Translation
 
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Beyond Kresge Library

To request an item from another library:
 
MelCat (Michigan libraries)
or   
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
Websites of interest
Maps of China
Rich collection of historical and contemporary maps.

Chinese history primary sources
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News