OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

CIN 252 - Methods of Cinema Study

Find Articles
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
No definitive dates of coverage, but includes books as well as articles--Variety goes back to 1914 (but Variety reviews included are often extracts of  the lengthier originals,  found in the print Variety Film Reviews; see Reference Sources)..  Many articles are full text within this index, but be sure to click on the get it linklinks for any other items; we may have access to the full text from another source or may own the source in print.  Note the "cite" feature--but be sure to check that the citation meets all the requirements of MLA citation!

JSTOR
and ProjectMuse
Both of these resources are entire collections of scholarly journals and the full text of all their articles.  Neither includes many film journals, but both include several important ones.  JSTOR includes the backfiles of journals up to one year or more ago [and in some cases includes current issues also].  JSTOR includes backfiles of Cinema Journal (1966-2006 and its earlier title from 1961-1965), Film History (1987-2006), and Film Quarterly (1958-present and its earlier titles from 1945).   ProjectMuse includes Cinema Journal (1999 to present), Film & History (2004 to present),  Film History (2005 to present),  Framework: The Journal of Film and Media (2006 to present), Velvet Light Trap (2003 to present), etc.

Film Literature Index
Print version:  1973-2004  Ref. PN1993.F647
Online Version:  1976-2001  Unfortunately, this online index does not have get it link links so you will need to check the Library Catalog to see if we have the item indexed.  You can limit to "peer reviewed" (i.e., scholarly sources).

MLA Bibliography
usually thought of as an index to langauge and literature, MLA also indexes academic/scholarly books, chapters in books,  journals, and dissertations in the area of film.

New York Times Historical
Wonderful source for film reviews.  To make it easier to find a review be sure to restrict your search to the year in which the movie appeared (or perhaps the next year also). Covers 1851-2007.  For more recent years see the New York Times - Current.

Microfilm
History of Cinema.  Series 1.  Hollywood and the Production Code  Microfilm PN1995.62.H57 2006 (lower level of the library KL143)
Includes files for 500 films produced from 1927 to 1968.  "The core of the files is the correspondence between the studios or producers and the staffs of the PCA and the MPAA. Also included are confidential reports from state and national censor boards, copies of the official Production Code certificate letter, analysis sheets, song lyrics, wardrobe photographs, and articles and reviews from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications."  Click here for link to the guide to the collection--includes an introduction, a listing of what is on each reel, and an alphabetical listing of films included (with reel numbers).

A ScanPro reader/printer is located on the wall near Research Help/Tech Help desk on the second floor. Excellent instructions in use of this marvellous device are here.
Find Books

OU Library Catalog--Includes books, films, journals (but does NOT index articles)

World Cat--union catalog of libraries worldwide

MelCat--union catalog of many Michigan libraries; 1st stop to interloan books


Boolean Keyword searching may get you even more:

psycho and hitchcock

"public enemy" and film

"public enemy" and "motion pictures"

censorship and "motion pictures"

Online Resources
Media History Digital Library
"The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning."
Other Info

InterLibrary Loan
In addition to requesting articles via the link and using MelCat for books not found via the Library Catalog, you can also fill out online interlibrary loan requests via ILLiad.


Library Contact
Picture: Beth Kraemer

Beth Kraemer
Associate Professor
kraemer@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

To get research assistance, email Beth or book an appointment below!


Frank Lepkowski
Frank Lepkowski Originally curated by
Frank Lepkowski
1955 - 2014

Reference Sources
Film Review Annual  Ref. PN1995.F465    1981-2002 (covering films from 1980-2001)
excerpts of movie reviews (including Village Voice, Sight and Sound, Los Angeles Times, etc) and references to other reviews.

Magill's Cinema Annual  Ref. PN1993.3.M34   1982-2010 (covering films from 1981-2009)
review like essay/summary and credits, citations to reviews, quotes, trivia.  Also, each volume includes introduction summarizing the year.

Screen World  Ref. PN1993.3.D3   1949-2008, but we are MISSING 1960-1962, 1964-1968, 1970-1972.
lists cast and has many photographs from each year's movies.  U.S. films in one section, foreign films in another section.

Variety Film Reviews  Ref. PN1993. V6 1907-1980
arranged by date with reproductions of film reviews as they appeared in Variety.  Index volume is very useful since you need to know month, day, and year of review.

New York Times Film Reviews  Ref. PN1994.N4 1913-1984, 1993-2000
Not as important since we have the New York Times Historical [online], but the 1913-1968 index and indexes at the end of the later volumes can be very helpful.  Finding the "principal" review of a film in the online New York Times can sometimes be a challenge.

New York Times Encyclopedia of Film  Ref. PN1993.N465 1984 1896-1979
"reprint collection of facsimile articles that appeared in The New York Times."  Articles are arranged chronologically but there is an index.  Topics such as censorship are included!

International Movie Database (IMDb)
--excellent source to discover release date for a film.  This information is quite helpful in finding the "principal" review in The New York Times.

Writing Resources
MLA Formatting and Style Guide From OWL--Perdue University

Writing an Annotated Bibliography
From The Writer's Handbook, The University of Wisconsin--Madison.

Writing a Literature Review Example of a source grid, from OU's Writing Center, Sherry Wynn Perdue

Writing an Abstract  From CERIS

RefWorks - a reference management tool that allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Ask a librarian
Stop by the Reference Desk--main floor across from the elevators. The library is now open 24 hours (until 2 AM Fri. & Sat.). There are reference librarians at the circulation desk during late night hours. They are happy to help you!

Call us--248-370-4426 reference or 248-370-4425 circulation

Request a Research Consultation--contact me by phone or email and we can schedule a 30 to an hour one-to-one research session. 

Chat with us--We can be reached via Instant Message as kresgeref on Yahoo Messenger, MSN Messenger, AIM, or google talk any time the Reference Desk is staffed.



Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News