Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

CNS 500 - Introduction to the Counseling Profession

Find Articles
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Work Abstracts
Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!
Test Reviews and Descriptions
Mental Measurements Yearbook Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Here you'll find descriptions and reviews of current testing instruments. Corresponds to volume 9 to present of print Mental Measurements Yearbook.

PsycTESTS Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

Does the Library Have the Journal I Need?

Use the Library Catalog to see if we have access to a particular journal title either in print or online. For example, if you needed the following article, you would perform a journal title search in the library catalog for Clinical Psychology Review to find out if we have access to volume 29, issue 8:

  • Cukor, J. et al (2009). Emerging treatments for PTSD. Clinical Psychology Review, 29(8), 715-726.
We do have access to this journal through ScienceDirect. Find the contents for volume 29 issue 8, and you'll see that the article is available online.

 If we don't have your article electronically or in-print, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad. It's a free service but allow some time for the article to be available.

Find Books
Library Catalog - Find books, DVDs, journal titles and government documents through this catalog.
Browse eBooks - Explore our electronic books collections in the Social Sciences.
MelCAT - Use MelCAT to find a book in a Michigan library. You can request that books from another library be sent to Kresge Library for your use.
Writing Help
OWL Guide to Using APA Format (Purdue U.)
APA Style Guide (from the APA)
The Writing Center at Oakland University
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library

Office hours:
  • LIB 250 - Monday 3-5pm (no appointment needed)
  • SEHS students - contact me anytime via email to make an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Neat books
Encyclopedia of Counseling Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Online Book (2008) includes: (1) changes and challenges facing counseling, (2) personal and emotional counseling, (3) cross-cultural counseling, and (4) career counseling.

APA Handbook of Multicultural Psychology
Print book: Published by the American Psychologial Association. Kresge Lib, 3rd floor,
HM 1271 .A63 2014

APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology
Print book:
Published by the American Psychologial Association. Kresge Lib, 3rd floor,
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News