OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

COM 303 - Communication Theory

Quick Definitions
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory - Stephen Littlejohn and Karen Foss (eds.) Sage Publishers, 2009.

Glossary of Theories - from Richard West and Lynn H. Turner's Introducing Communication Theory: Analysis and Application. McGraw-Hill, 2001.

Overview of Communication Theories- Communication Studies, University of Twente, the Netherlands

What is empiricism?  (from Encyclopedia of Communication Theory)

Neat ebooks
Human and Mediated Communication around the World, Springer International Publishing, 2014.

Ascent of media : from Gilgamesh to Google via GutenbergParry, Roger. Nicholas Brealey Pub., 2011.

Avatars of the Word: From Papyrus to CyberspaceO'Donnell, James Joseph. Harvard University Press, 2000.

Encyclopedia of International Media and CommunicationsJohnston, Donald H., Academic Press [Imprint], 2003.

Exploring communication ethics : interviews with influential scholars in the fieldArneson, Pat. P. Lang, 2007.
Find Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete  The best place to start your search for articles on communication theory. Access full-text articles with the get it linklink.

JSTOR  -- Need full-text scholarly articles? Try JSTOR! Use quotation marks for effective searching: "Communication Accommodation Theory".

PsycInfo - A great tool for finding scholarly articles in communication. 

Sociological Abstracts -- Another good resource to use for scholarly articles.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts -- The focus here is on linguisitics but a lot of communication journals are also indexed here as well. 

Browse this key journal:

Communication Theory--a particularly relevant journal title that can be searched on its web site.  It is also indexed in several of the sources above--including Social Sciences Abstracts, PsycInfo, and Sociological Abstracts.

For still other databases, see the Databases by Subject listing for Communication.

Does the Library Have the Journal I Need?
Use the Library Catalog to see if we have access to a particular journal title . For example, if you need this article, perform a journal title search in the library catalog for Western Journal of Communication to find out if we have access to volume 60, issue 4:
  • Buzzanell, P.M., Burrell, N. A. et al. (1996). 'When I call you up and you're not there: Application of communication accommodation theory to telephone answering machine messages". Western Journal of Communication, 60(4), 310-336.
We do have the article online, but if we don't have it, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad. It's free!
Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Office hours: please contact me for research consultations
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...

APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition  (Ref. BF76.7. P83 2010)--one copy at the Circulation Desk, one copy at the Reference Desk, one copy in the Reference stacks.

APA Style--from the Purdue Online Writing Lab

Find Books
Library Catalog - What books, ebooks, DVDs, journal titles and government documents does the library have? The Library Catalog has that information.

Browse eBooks - Explore the library's e-book collection in the field of communication.

ACLS Humanities eBook Collection
An online collection of almost 2,800 titles in art, history, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, area studies and more.

- Michigan eLibrary - Can't find a book from the OU Libraries? Use MelCAT to request the book from a Michigan library. The book will be sent to Kresge Library for you to use... at no charge!

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster

Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News