eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

History - Colonial and Early U.S. History
General history resources
JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Archives the full-text of articles from nearly 300 history journals.

America: History & Life Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Includes numerous history journals.

Colonial America and Early Republic and Antebellum America: an online general history, including primary sources and references for further reading.
Primary sources
Annals of America
A multi-volume set that includes 3 volumes of documents on the colonial period, and one on the early Republic.

Early American Imprints, entire series Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in colonial America and the early republic.

American Periodicals Online Series Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This source includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940.

ARTstor Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Digital library of over one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. To find U.S. history resources browse by Geography, select United States.

Michigana Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Digitized archives documenting the history of the region.

Primary sources (in addition to those listed in the general history guide):
For more sources see:
Major journals in early American History
The William and Mary Quarterly. The leading journal in its field. Includes scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World-New World contacts to the early nineteenth century and beyond.

Eighteenth Century Studies. Research on all aspects of 18th century culture.

The Journal of American History. One of the leading scholarly publications in American history.

The American Historical Review. The journal of the American Historical Association covers all fields of history and is the leading scholarly historical publication in the U.S.

The Journal of the Early Republic. Covers the period 1776-1861.
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have an item, you can request materials be sent to Kresge Library for you:

MelCat
MeLCat is a catalog of Michigan libraries, where you can place a request.
Illiad
Illiad is an interlibrary loan system, where you can fill out the details of the materials you want.
Other resources at the Library
The Library has a pathfinder on the American Revolution
See also the general history guide.
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian

Research Consultation
Request an individual session to get help with your research. You can expect the session within 2-3 days.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours by appt.

Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website