OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Library Services and Resources for Patrons with Disabilities

Services
For services and assistive technology available at Kresge Library, please see our Accessibility page.
Selected Internet Resources

General Information

Americans with Disabilities Act
Includes ADA standards for accessible design, toll-free ADA information line, and ADA information from other government agencies.

Disability Discrimination  US Dept of Education website.

Disability.gov
A federal government website providing information on disability programs and services nationwide.

DRM Guide to Disability Resources
The DRM webwatcher lists numerous Web sites relating to disability and the DRM Regional Resource Directory lists local agencies and organizations.

Family Village
Integrated information, resources and communication opportunities on the Internet for persons with cognitive and other disabilities.

Finding Information on Education 
Searchable by state and/or nation as well as by topic, audience and type of disability, this site offers links to many resources, including services, scholarship and financial aid information, transitioning to college and from college to career, rights, etc.

Students with Disabilities Preparing for Postsecondary Education: Know Your Rights and Responsibilities 
US Department of Education.  Office for Civil Rights.  Sept 2011.
Basic information, mostly in question and answer format.

Assistive Technology

AbleData
Contains product information, along with an online library of assistive technology publications, organizations, conferences and meetings.

Auxiliary Aids and Services for Postsecondary Students with Disabilities; Higher Education's Obligations under Section 504 and Title II of the ADA 
From the Office for Civil Rights, this site describes rights and responsibilities of both institutions and students regarding services, aids and assistive technology.

Bookshare –     An “online library of digital books for people with print disabilities.” Provides access to over 170,000 books on a free membership basis to those who can provide proof of disability.

Pet Partners
Animal-assisted therapy (e.g., service dogs).

Listservs and Discussion Groups

DRM Webwatcher
List of lists of disability related listservs and discussion groups.

Family Village Coffee Shop
Includes chat rooms, IRCs, mailing lists, newsgroups and web boards.

Organizations

Disability Related Organizations   – Provided by the United States Access Board (a federal agency promoting accessible design), this list provides links to groups focusing on various disabilities.

American Foundation for the Blind
Includes education, employment, literacy through assistive technology, and web accessibility. Also includes online subscription journals.

Learning Disabilities Association of America
Purpose is to advance the education and general welfare of children and adults of normal or potentially normal intelligence who manifest disabilities of a perceptual, conceptual or coordinative nature.

National Association of the Deaf
Programs and activities include grassroots advocacy and empowerment, captioned media, deafness-related information and publications, legal assistance, policy development and research.

Scholarships and Internships

Grants for Students with Disabilities and Disabled Scholarship Opportunities. From College Scholarships.org.

Entry Point!    A program offered by the AAAS Project on Science, Technology, and Disability offering internship and co-op opportunities to students with disabilities who are studying in the fields of science, engineering, mathematics, computer science and some business disciplines.


Selected Kresge Library Materials

Assistive Technology Assessment Handbook (e-book)
Publisher: Boca Raton: CRC Press, c2012.

Assistive Technologies in the Library (e-book)
Publisher: Chicago: American Library Association, c2011.

Ultimate Guide to Assistive Technology in Special Education: Resources for Education, Intervention, and Rehabilitation (e-book)
Publisher: Waco, Tex: Prufrock Press, c2011.

Cool & Hussey's Assistive Technologies: Principles and Practice.
Publisher: St. Louis, MO.: Mosby Elsevier, c 2008.
Location: Book - 3rd Floor
Call Number: RM 698 .C66 2008; CD RM 698 .C66 2008 (at Circulation Desk)

Teaching Students with Moderate and Severe Disabilities.
Publisher: New York: Guilford Press, c2011.
Location: Book - 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 4065 .B76 2011

The Clinical Practice of Educational Therapy: A Teaching Model.
Publisher: New York: Routledge, 2010.
Location: Book - 3rd Floor
Call Number: LB 1051 .C55 2010

Higher education and disability: Education needs a coordinated approach to improve its assistance to schools in supporting students : report to the Chairman, Committee on Education and Labor, House of Representatives. 2009.

E-learning and Disability in Higher Education: Accessibility Research and Practice.
Publisher: London; New York: Routledge, 2006.
Location: Book - 3rd Floor
Call Number: LB 2395.7 .S42 2006

Alternate Assessments for Students with Disabilities / Sandra J. Thompson.
Publisher: Thousand Oaks , Calif.: Corwin Press, c2001.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 4031 .A62 2001

Harwell, Joan M., 1936-
Complete Learning Disabilities Handbook: Ready-to-Use Strategies and Activities for Teaching Students with Learning Disabilities.
Publisher: Paramus , N.J. : Center for Applied Research in Education, c2001.
Location: Book – 3rd floor
Call Number: LC 4704. H378 2001

Browder, Diane M.
Curriculum and Assessment for Students with Moderate and Severe Disabilities.
Publisher: New York : Guilford Press, c2001.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 4031 .B695 2001

Families and Teachers of Individuals with Disabilities: Collaborative Orientations and Responsive Practices / Dorothy J. O’Shea . . . [et al.].
Publisher: Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c2001.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 3969 .F34 2001

Technology, Curriculum, and Professional Development: Adapting Schools to Meet the Needs of Students with Disabilities / John Woodward, editor.
Publisher: Thousand Oaks , Calif. : Corwin Press, c2001.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 3969.5 .W66 2001

Instruction of Students with Severe Disabilities / Martha E. Snell, ed.
Publisher: Upper Saddle River , N.J. : Merrill, c2000.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 4031 .I572 2000

Vallecorsa, Ada , 1948-
Students with Mild Disabilities in General Education Settings: A Guide for Special Educators.
Publisher: Upper Saddle River , N.J. : Merrill, c2000.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 4705 .V35 2000

Westling, David L.
Teaching Students with Severe Disabilities.
Publisher Upper Saddle River , N.J. : Merrill, c2000.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 4031 .W47 2000

Developmental Disability and Behiaviour / edited by Christopher Gillberg and Gregory O’Brien.
Publisher: London : Mac Keith, 2000.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: RJ 506 .D47 D48 2000

Handbook of Communication and People with Disabilities Research and Application / edited by Dawn O. Braithwaite, Teresa L. Thompson.
Publisher: Mahwah , N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Publishers, c2000.
Location: Electronic Book

Serving Students with Disabilities / Holley A. Belch, editor.
Publisher: San Francisco : Jossey-Bass Publishers, c2000.
Location: Book – 3rd Floor
Call Number: LC 4813 .S45 2000

Sitlington, Patricia L.
Transition Education and Services for Adolescents with Disabilities.
Publisher: Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c2000.
Location: Book – 3rd floor
Call Number: LC 4031 .S58 2000


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News