OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Free e-books

Free ebooks online
Google Book Search
provides full-text of out of copyright books (generally, books published before 1930) and "snippets" of books in copyright.

Google Play
Google has partnered with publishers and authors to make ebooks available for purchase; in addition nearly 3 million free classics are available. The books can be downloaded to smart phones and e-readers that support the Adobe eBook platform like the Nook, or read directly in a browser.

Hathi Trust
a large digital library providing full-text access to books in the public domain and search service for books in copyright. The books come from a variety of sources including  Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and i partner institutions. Users affiliated with HathiTrust partner institutions are able to download books in the public domain in their entirety.

Project Gutenberg

thousands of free ebooks, which can be downloaded to your portable devices in ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.

Internet Archive
contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.

Free-ebooks.net
a large online bookstore with anything in fiction and non-fiction, all free. Ranges from classics in the public domain and self-published authors.

The Open Library
its ambition is to have a record for every book ever published. It currently contains over 20 million records. For each book, it indicates availability online or in print. You can limit the search to ebooks and you can download them to your device.

Gallica
the national library of France has a large and growing collection of books fully available online. It recently launched an ebook program, so you can download ebooks in the epub, mobi, HTML or plain text formats. You can even publish the books on your Facebook page.

University of California Press E-book Collections, 1982-2004
UCP has made available online some of the books in its digital library, mostly published in the mid-1980s to mid-1990s period. Particularly strong in English and history.

Harvard University Library Open Collections program

rare books from the Harvard collections.

National Academies Press
over 4,000 free ebooks from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council (PDF format).

Feedbooks
this online ebook store offers thousands of public domain ebooks and original books for free.

Directory of Open Access Books
academic books in open access.
ebook reader software
Adobe Digital Editions
Free software that provides "an engaging way to view and manage ebooks". Use it to organize and read all your ebooks, purchased or free.

Copia
A desktop reader and apps for the ipad and other platforms. Copia also offers free ebooks.

Calibre

manages your e-book collection on your computer.
You can use it to view e-books, to sort your collection and search in it.
Calibre also converts e-book formats to the format of your choice, and syncs your books with your e-reader. And much more!

Calibre is a free downloadable application.

E-books at Kresge
 
Full listing of e-book collections, available to OU-affiliated users.

Searching for ebooks online



Find free e-books and compare e-book prices for the Kindle, Nook, and other readers.

 
Search for online or downloadable ebooks available freely across numerous libraries worldwide. 
Ebooks on your mobile
Stanza
a free app that allows you to download and read ebooks on the iphone, ipad and ipod touch.

Google Play books
for the iphone, ipad and ipod touch. Also for Android.

eBook Search
a free app to search and dowload free ebooks to the reader of your choice

Aldiko: for Android

Free e-book.net
the online free e-bookstore, has its own app for the iphone and Android.
Resources about ebooks
The Internet Public Library has compiled a list of resources related to ebooks and ereaders, including ebook management software and ebook libraries.

eBookAnoid provides updated information about e-books and e-readers.

For more websites that offer free ebooks, go to ebook Newser.
New releases from Manybooks.net

Loading ...


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News