OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

EL 500 - Introduction to Educational Leadership

Find Articles
ABI/Inform Complete Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks

ERIC Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Education: SAGE Full Text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers all aspects of education. How to export to RefWorks
 
JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.

PsycINFO Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

You can also search for specific journals by title here.
Citation Searching

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Auerbach, S. (2010). Beyond coffee with the principal: Toward leadership for authentic school-family partnerships. Journal of School Leadership 20(6), 728-757.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - "Beyond coffee with the principal: Toward leadership for authentic school-family partnerships" - not the title of the journal (Journal of School Leadership).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Journal of School Leadership  - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article online.
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Other Useful Library Resources
Web of Science Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication).

Mental Measurements Yearbook Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Here you'll find descriptions and reviews of current testing instruments. Corresponds to volume 9 to present of print Mental Measurements Yearbook. How to export to RefWorks

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!

Chronicle of Higher Education Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff

Here you'll find full-text of the Chronicle, a news source of higher education.


Dissertations and Theses Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day. How to export to RefWorks

Dissertations and Theses @ OU Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses. How to export to RefWorks
Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Assistant Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: W 3:30-5p & Th 10a-12p 
Available in person or online via Skype
  My status
Online Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
"Five foundational topics provide an overall grounding for the more than 400 entries that follow. The content of these five chapters includes an overview of the history of cross-cultural school psychology in the United States, a review of cross-cultural competencies, discussion about disparities in school services, consideration of multicultural assessment tools, and future directions in the field of school psychology." (Preface)

Philosophy of Education Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The encyclopedia (1996) is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

APA Citation Guide
Need help with APA formatting? Try this neat OWL guide from Purdue
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News