OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

EST 601 - Introduction to Educational Studies

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find Scholarly Articles
ERIC Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Education: SAGE Full Text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers all aspects of education. How to export to RefWorks

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.

PsycINFO Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Does the Library Have the Article I Need?
To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Harpell, J.V., Andrews, J. J. W. (2010). Administrative Leadership in the Age of Inclusion: Promoting Best Practices and Teacher Empowerment. Journal of Educational Thought, 44(2), 189-210.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Administrative leadership in the age of inclusion: Promoting best practices and teacher empowerment - not the title of the journal (Journal of Educational Thought).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Journal of Educational Thought - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article online and in print.
Cited Reference Searching Resources
Google Scholar Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
You can check the availability of article full text from within Google Scholar - see how! This link explains How to export to RefWorks

Web of Science Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication).
Other Relevant Resources
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!

Mental Measurements Yearbook Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Here you'll find descriptions and reviews of current testing instruments. Corresponds to volume 9 to present of print Mental Measurements Yearbook. How to export to RefWorks

VAST: Academic Video Online Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Streaming video is at your fingertips with VAST! Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Assistant Professor

Fall 2015 Office Hours - Feel free to stop by, or make an appointment:
Wednesdays, 3-5pm
Thursdays, 10am-12pm
Early American Imprints
Interested in finding primary material on education during colonial America? Try Early American Imprints - a digital collection containing the full-text of pamphlets and books from 1639-1819. A fascinating collection!

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster

Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News