eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Finding multimedia for coursework and teaching
Finding Videos & Audio & Music
GENERAL SUBJECTS:

Academic OneFile - Thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC, links to hundreds of videos on medical procedures from OR-Live

Naxos Music Library - A collection of classical music available online.

Naxos Video Library - An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

Teaching Books - includes thousands of video and audio resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment.

VAST: Academic Video Online - Streaming videos from multiple collections ranging from the Humanities to Sports Medicine and Exercise Science, constantly adding more videos and subjects.

MEDICAL SUBJECTS:

Several of our databases include videos that can be used for instruction.
AccessMedicine - use the multimedia tab to view available video and audio
Health Reference Center Academic - General nursing and allied health topics.
Medline Plus - National Library of Medicine & NIH resouce, includes videos and interactive tutorials
Nursing Education in Video - online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.

FREE ONLINE RESOURCES:

American Memory Project - (Library of Congress) American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Creative Commons Music Communities -
List of  music communities that utilize CC tools, typically by enabling users to upload content under one of CC free licenses.

SpinX Get Media Search is an online social media source. The site provides a search engine
for discovering independent producers who offer creative content for use under Creative Commons licenses.

NewMediaRights.org -
Maintains a more extensive list of free resources

Finding Images

GENERAL SUBJECTS:

ARTstor
, Kresge subscribes to a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Instructor level tools allow faculty to store image collections, upload personal files and incorporate resources into teaching.

The Berg Fashion Library, includes 8,000+ images from Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, and the Victoria and Albert Museum's and Metropolitan Museum of Art's Costume Institute museum collections.

Credo Reference Image search - a collection of reference titles includes Britannica Concise Encylopedia images and others

Film Image Collection - part of Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text database is  the definitive online tool for film and television research.

Image Quick View Collection - part of Communication and Mass Media Complete - includes images, graphs, maps, diagrams

Sharpe Online Reference -SOLR includes a broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues from earliest times to the present day.

Oxford Art Online provides access to Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

MEDICAL IMAGES:

Several of our databases include images that can be used for instruction.
AccessMedicine
Health Reference Center Academic - General nursing and allied health topics.
MD Consult - includes over 50,000 high-quality medical images from the renowned medical books.
 
FREE ONLINE RESOURCES:

American Memory Project
- (Library of Congress) American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
-
(Does not work with Firefox) AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.

Flickr creative commons, an online social media source providing access to image collections made available for use by Flickr users under a Creative Commons license. You can browse or search through content under each type of license.

NewMediaRights.org - Maintains a more extensive list of free resources

 

Technology Assistance for Students
Kresge Library Information Commons Tech Support - students can get assistance with most major computer programs, wireless printing. (List of supported software)


Student Technology Center  at the OU- offers training, hands on support and equipment rental. List of supported software & programs.
  • Located at: 44 Oakland Center, Phone: (248) 370-4TEC (4832)
  • Email: stc@oakland.edu Location and hours
Where on campus to go for ....
Help with Moodle, Elluminate, espace, eportfolio - e-Learning and Instructional Support (e-LIS). Also support for Second Life, i>clickers, iTunesU, podcasting, Camtasia, coverting classes to online format. Online Moodle Help form

Help with classroom technology - Classroom Support and Instructional Technical Services . Also provides Multimedia, video services, and equipment rentals Online Help form

Help with email, file storage, Banner, account set-ups, networking, phones- University Technology Services  (UTS) - See Core Services list
Contact the Helpdesk at (248) 370-HELP or helpdesk@oakland.edu

Help with incorportating digtial resources into courses  -Kresge Library Course Instruction Support Contact the Educational Technology Librarian, Julia E Rodriguez, juliar@oakland.edu

Help with putting information on the web for the public to view - UC&M: University Communications & Marketing. They oversees the university’s online presence and any OU Web site. Any online communication (Web page, podcast, video, etc.) that is accessible to the general public and not intended strictly for classroom use, except personal Web pages, must be reviewed and approved by UC&M before it is made public.


Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Assistant Professor / Nursing and Health Sciences Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

No summer Office hours
Kresge Library 238 - (main floor)

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)


Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website