OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

French

Find background information
  Literature and literary criticism

  Poèmes, pièces, prose ; introduction à l'analyse de textes littéraires français    
(KL 3rd floor, PQ 53 .S36 1973)

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Entries on French theory and criticism, organized by period. Also entries on specific critics like Flaubert, Foucault or Rousseau.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Several volumes on French literature:
Cambridge Companion to Medieval French Literature
Cambridge Companion to the French Novel
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French (Reference PQ 41 .N48 1995)

French history and culture
Country information
Find articles
  MLA Bibliography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The most comprehensive database to search for books, book chapters, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, and folklore. To learn how to search for articles on French literature in MLA, view our tutorial (4mn).

  JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Hundreds of full-text journals in a variety of subject areas, including French / Francophone literature and history. Coverage of most journals extends back to the journal's first issue (sometimes in the 1800s) up to, but not including the last few years.
Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A collection of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including French studies and literature. Coverage extends back to the last few years.  How to export to RefWorks

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The most comprehensive listing of articles for the history of countries outside North America. How to export to RefWorks

French Cultural Studies.
A journal with wideranging coverage including French culture, language and society in all sections of the education system.

Persee and Cairn.info: French scholarly journals online

Isidore: gateway to French scholarly sources
Learn French
Bilingual dictionaries

Collins French Dictionary (online)
Harrap's French and English college dictionary (Reference PC 2640 .H2725 2006)
Grand dictionnaire français-anglais, anglais-français Larousse (Reference PC 2640 .G735 1993)
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary (Reference PC 2640 .O94 2001)
ARTFL English-French Dictionary
(online)
The Facts on File English/French visual dictionary (Reference PC 2640 .C64 1987)
Business French Dictionary (online)

French dictionaries

Dictionnaire de la langue française (Littré) (Reference PC2625 .L63). Free online access to the dictionary.
Dictionnaire Larousse (Reference PC 2625 .L49 2009)
Dictionnaire Petit Robert (Reference PC 2625 .R553)
Dictionaire de Synonymes (free - online)
Dictionnaires d'autrefois: (free - online) French Dictionaries from the 17th - 20th centuries, including several Dictionnaires de l'Académie française along with the Estienne, Nicot, Bayle, Moréri, Féraud, and Littré.
Larousse online: free online Larousse French dictionary, including dictionary of synomyms, idioms, homomyms, and quotations.

Complete list of dictionaries available at KL:
French language dictionaries, French language dictionaries English

French language Readers at Kresge Library

Free language learning tools online:
  • Français Interactif: a free online textbook to learn French, developed at the University of Texas at Austin's department of French
  • Le Conjugueur
  • Forvo: a wiki where native speakers can post the pronunciation of words
  • CAPL: a growing collection of images for language learning
Find images and videos
ARTstor Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor has over 82,000 images related to French art, culture and history. You can browse by geographic area.

For more images, search Gallica, Europeana or Culture.fr

Institut National de l'Audiovisuel (INA): online access to the INA's audiovisual archive. A large collection of audio and video clips on French popular culture, history, politics, etc.
Websites of interest
   French Culture: the official website of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the US.

France.fr: multilingual gateway to all the internet resources of the French government. A good source to learn more about the country, to prepare for a visit or studies in France, etc.

Au Fil du Temps: a comprehensive list of resources on French culture.
Translation
 
New French magazine

Kresge Library now has Paris Match, the popular French magazine.
Find it on the 4th floor!
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Beyond Kresge Library

To request an item from another library:
 
MelCat (Michigan libraries)
or   
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
Find French News

 
For a broad coverage of the French language press see LexisNexis Academic Universe . Articles from Le Monde, Le Point, L'Express, and many other French newspapers and magazines.Click on the News Tab and then the Foreign Language link, then choose "French". For instructions on how to search for foreign language news in LexisNexis, click here. For direct access to French press search, click here.

EUfeeds: easy access to the latest articles from dozens of French newspapers and magazines.

Gallica hosts numerous titles from the 19th and early 20th century, such as Le Figaro, Le Temps, L'Humanité.
Literature and primary sources online
   Gallica: the digital library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

The European Library: access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe.

ARTFL Project:  "nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of 17th century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.  Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy."

History of France: primary sources: full text of documents for French history from antiquity to the present.

Culture.fr: "le portail de la culture". Its collections contain millions of documents and images from various cultural institutions, all gathered in one website.

Europeana: a portal to the online collections of the most important cultural institutions of Europe, including the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, the Cité de la Musique, and some of the most important museums such as the Louvre and Musée d'Orsay.

Manioc: "bibliothèque numérique Caraïbe, Amazonie, plateau des Guyanes". A collection of text and multi-media resources, both primary and secondary, on the history of this region.

Wikisource: a free collection of French books in the public domain.
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News