Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

FRH 416 - French Literature / Mid Ages-16th Century

Reference Resources

Cambridge Companions

    A number of volumes focus on French medieval literature:

     Some of these Companions are also available in print.

Dictionary of Literary Bibliography: An extensive scholarly reference book covering authors, books and various topics in literature. Each chapter provides a bibliography.

The Handbook of Medieval Studies (Ref D 116 .H37 2010)
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

For more information

Kresge Library has a pathfinder on Medieval History that lists numerous reference sources, at the library and beyond. Some useful websites are listed too.

Find Articles
MLA Bibliography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff and Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of numerous journals in French studies, history, literary criticism, and more

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks
To find the text of articles that are not directly available online in the database you are using, be sure to click the link to determine if the article is available in another database or in print in the library.

See also the Medieval History pathfinder.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Web resources
Gallica

The digital library of the French Bibliothèque Nationale provides online access to the full text of numerous French works, including several editions of La vie de Saint Alexis, La Chanson de Roland and to Le miracle de Théophile. It also has critical studies on these as well as on Le roman d'Eneas, Tristan et Yseut, Merlin and Le chemin de longue étude.

Persée

An online database of French language scholarly journals in the humanities, it includes numerous materials on French medieval literature.

English translations

Arthur: de l'histoire à la littérature

A wonderful online exhibit of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, it contains in-depth information and beautiful illustrations, including pages on Merlin and Chrétien de Troyes, and digital versions of Histoire de Merlin and other volumes.

Bestiaire

Another exhibit of the BNF, it contains images, videos, digital versions of Roman de Renart and other works, and much more!

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News