OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

FRH 419 - 19th Century French Literature

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find articles
MLA Bibliography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Allows you to search for articles about topics in the arts and humanities (literature, music, film studies, etc.). Provides information on related works.

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Includes the entire run of the French Review. In Winter 1971 the journal had a special issue on nineteenth century literature.

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.
Includes all issues of Nineteenth Century French Studies since 2001.

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff  
Sources on the historical context

Nineteenth Century French Studies
Available in print and electronically at OU for post 2000 issues. The website of the journal offers a searchable database of the abstracts of all past articles, beginning with the first issue in 1972.

Romantisme: Revue du Dix-Neuvième Siècle
French journal on the various literary, artistic, scientific, historical and political currents of 19th century Europe
French literature online
Gallica: The online digital library of the Bibliotheque Nationale, contains nearly 20,000 full text books of 19th century French literature.

Project Gutenberg: Large online collection of French literature.

Wikisource: French literature and press of the 19th century in full text

Translation
 
Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Related guides

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News