OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

German

Learn German
   Bilingual dictionaries

Collins German Dictionary (online, OU only)
Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary (print, Ref. PF 3640 .H28 2003)
Oxford-Duden German Dictionary (print, Ref. PF 3640 .O94 1999)
Business German Dictionary (online, OU only)
Deutsch English Wörterbuch
(free, online): German/English dictionary with over 640,000 entries.

German dictionaries

Duden Deutsches Universalwörterbuch (print, Ref. PF 3625 .D83 2007)
Duden: das Stilwörterbuch (print, Ref.PF 3625 .D827 2010)
Wörterbuch Deutsch als Fremdsprache (print, Ref. PF 3625 .K46 2000)
Das Digitale Wörterbuch der Deutschen Sprache (free, online)
Deutsches Wörterbuch by Jakob Grim and Wilhelm Grimm (free, online access to the Grimms''s 16 volume dictionary published in the late 19th century)

Full list of dictionaries available at the Library: German language Dictionaries English, German language Dictionaries

German language readers at Kresge Library

Free language learning tools online:
  • Linguee: dictionary and search engine displaying words in context
  • Forvo: a wiki where native speakers can post the pronounciation of words. You can learn how to pronounce a word and also see how speakers in different regions pronounce it differently.
  • Wordsteps: a fun way to learn new vocabulary
  • CAPL: a growing collection of images for language learning

Find background information
  Encyclopedia of German literature
Critical essays on people and movements in German literature. Each essay has a bibliography for  further reading.
Also available in print (PT 41 .E53 2000 )

The Cambridge Companion to Modern German Culture
Also available in print (DD 204 .C36 1998)

The Cambridge Companion to the Modern German Novel
Also available in print (PT 771 .C36 2004)

Dictionary of Literary Biography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Includes:
Print encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia
Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990
The feminist encyclopedia of German literature

Country information
Countries and their Cultures
World Factbook on Germany (CIA)
Background Note on Germany (US Department of State)
Global Market Information Database Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff : a business database with in-depth country information, including current, downloadable statistics. See the profile on Gernany.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find articles
  MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Hundreds of full-text journals in a variety of subject areas, including German literature and history. Coverage of most journals extends back to the journal's first issue (sometimes in the 1800s) up to, but not including the last few years. How to export to RefWorks

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Some journals in German studies and literature How to export to RefWorks

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The most comprehensive listing of articles for the history of countries outside North America. How to export to RefWorks
Find images
ARTstor Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Over 62,000 images of paintings, photographs, sculptures, etc. relating to German culture.

Realia
A peer-reviewed collection of images relating to daily culture. Designed to facilitate teaching and learning modern languages, the images can be freely used for educational purposes.
Goethe Institut - Cultural News

Loading ...

Translation
 
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Beyond Kresge Library

To request an item from another library:
 
MelCat (Michigan libraries)
or   
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
Websites of interest
  Litrix.de: a website devoted to contemporary German literature, hosted by the Goethe Institut. Available in German and English, it contains information about authors and works, as well as substantial excerpts from works.

Gutenberg Project: an online collection of full-text books, including German classics (in both German and English).

Deutsche Literatur digital library: a large collection of full-text German works, to be read online or downloaded.

Zeno.org: a digital library that contains works in German from all major disciplines.

Sophie: a digital library of fiction written by German-speaking women between 1740 and 1923.

History of Germany: Primary Documents: a collection of links to German primary sources from the Middle Ages to the Present.

Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke: digitized German language collections.

German Studies Web: a portal maintained by the Association of College and Research Libraries, with a selection of scholarly resources in all fields of German Studies - literature, history, linguistics, etc.
Find News
LexisNexis Academic Universe Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Articles from  many German newspapers and magazines such as Der Spiegel or Die Zeit. Click on the News Tab and then the Foreign Language link, then choose "German". For instructions on how to search for foreign language news in LexisNexis, click here. For direct access to searching German language news, click here.

Paperball: search German newspapers online by keyword.

Deutsche Welle: news in German, with audio files. The speakers speak slowly and clearly, so this a great learning tool.

EUfeeds: easy access to the latest articles of dozens of German newspapers:

ICON: links to digitized historical German newspapers.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

For more information

The Library has pathfinders on German literature and German history.
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News