Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Government Documents: Federal

How To Find and Cite Government Information
Today more and more government documents are available online, making them easier to find and access.  As there are many possible avenues to search, you can make the process easier if you can determine as much information as possible about the document in question - title, author (if there is one), date, and issuing body.  Was it the work of a particular agency, committee, commission, or advisory board?  However, not all government documents are online for various reasons - if the document is classified, unpublished, or predates the internet, for instance.  You may find that some older government documents are only available in print, microfiche, or CD-ROM. Contact a goverment documents librarian for assistance in locating items.

Government Documents in the Archives Library Information Center  Links to government publications in the National Archives, gateways and guides to federal information, finding aids and indexes to government documents, federal directories, and other government publications.

Digital Preservation (LOCKSS Initiative)
An international community initiative that provides tools and support to collect and preserve copies of authorized e-content.

Digitization Projects Registry The authoritative directory listing of US. Government publication digitization efforts.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
 
Finding tool for federal publications, both historical and current, with direct links to those that are available online.

Federal Digital System A comprehensive Government Printing Office site which offers links to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional Record and other important sources.

USA.gov The government's most robust search engine giving access to thousands of web sites.

1909 Checklist  Provides access to a plethora of government information from 1789-1909.

APA Guide to Citing Government Documents

President/Executive Branch
American Presidency Project Over 30,000 historic documents regarding American presidents, including State of the Union addresses, inaugural addresses and public papers.

The Living Room Candidate An online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired.

Presidents of the United States This site offers background information, election results, cabinet members, and notable events about each president.

Congress
C-Span An informative site that focuses on Congress and politics.

U.S. Congress Votes Database  Sponsored by the Washington Post, this site provides a searchable database of Congressional voting from 1991 to the present.

United States House of Representatives Offical site giving schedules of house floor action and hearings, information about members, tallies of roll call votes, links to other federal sites.

United States Senate Official site of the world's most exclusive 100 member club, with lots of information similar to what's found on the House site.

Census and Statistical Data

Census/Demographics: Federal


Census/Demographics: Michigan


Other Statistical Data Sources:


Laws, Regulations and Forms

Supreme Court:


Laws and Regulations:

Forms:

Politics and Elections

Guide to U.S. Elections and Voting Provides non-partisan as well as partisan sources of information on elections and voting.

Project Vote Smart A good source of election-related information, including lobby group ratings of candidates, campaign finance data and candidate biographies.

Publius Voter education site that allows for viewing a specific voter's ballot, mapping of polling locations and other Michigan election/voting issues.

Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008 Excellent presentation of US electoral history via the use of interactive maps.
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Pope

Julia Pope
Information Literacy Librarian
pope@oakland.edu
248.370.2483

Picture: Anne Switzer

Anne Switzer
Social Sciences, Government Documents, & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475


Library Contact
Jocelyn Baldwin
Library Technician II
Email: baldwin@oakland.edu
Phone: 248.370.2484

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News