eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

HC 100 - First Year Colloquium
HC100 in class activity
Herrick, H., Thompson, H., Kinder, J. and Madsen, K. A. (2012), Use of SPARK to promote after-school physical activity. Journal of School Health, 82: 457–461.

Hesketh, A. (2004), Early literacy achievement of children with a history of speech problems. International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders, 39: 453–468.

Webb, S. M. (2012). The Woman Citizen: A Study of How News Narratives Adapt to a Changing Social Environment. American Journalism, 29(2), 9-36.
Identify a topic
Here are some tools to help find or refine a specific topic.
  • Credo Reference Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
    Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.
    A collection of encyclopedias, it can be a quick and easy way to get started on topics in most of the major disciplines. The "concept map" search allows you to explore general topics and refine them, using an interactive map of topics and subtopics. Credo offers a video demonstration of this feature.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff : Easy to browse set of resources on controversial social issues.
  • Academic OneFile Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff : A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the list of related subjects to explore a topic. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary.
  • For discipline-specific information, see the library's specialized online encyclopedias.

Alternative search engines
  • Quintura. A search engine that presents results as a "cloud".
  • DeeperWeb: powered by Google, it allows you to refine your search by adding or excluding words in Deeper Cloud (see image), by selecting specific categories of information, and more!
 
Find books on research methods
Books owned by the library on research methods in the various disciplines:
Art Research Methodology
Business Research Methodology
Education Research Methodology
Engineering Methodology
History Research Methodology
Linguistics Research Methodology
Literature Research Methodology
Psychology Research Methodology
Sociology Research Methodology
Science Methodology

Some useful websites:
How to do statistical research (tutorial)
Research Methods Knowledge Base: a comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods
Basic business research methods tutorial
Psychology research methods tutorial
A Primer on Education Research
Nursing research methods: qualitative and quantitative
Introduction to nursing research

You can also use the library's specialized encyclopedias to explore research methods in specific disciplines
Find scholarly resources on your topic
You can search in the following general databases that cover all the disciplines:

Academic OneFile Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Or you can use the following database for a specific discipline:

Business & Management: ABI/Inform Complete Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Computer Science: ACM Digital Library Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Education: ERIC Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Health Sciences, Nursing and MedicineCINAHL Plus with Full-Text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Social SciencesSocial Sciences Full Text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff

For other specialized sources, see the list of databases by subject.
Conversations with Carl Sagan
At KL: Tom Head, ed., Conversations with Carl Sagan (2006)




Other works by Sagan

About Sagan's life and work Additional material
The Haunting of Hill House
At KL: The Haunting of Hill House (part of a Shirley Jackson anthology)





Other works by Shirley Jackson at KL

About Jackson's life:
Shirley Jackson bio
Joyce Carol Oates interviewed about Shirley Jackson

About her work:
Shirley Jackson's American gothic
Angela Hague, "A Faithful Anatomy of Our Times": Reassessing Shirley Jackson, Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies  26, no. 2 (2005):73-96
Steven Jay Schneider,  "The Haunting, from Novel to Film...to Film," Journal Of Popular Film & Television 30, no. 3 (Fall2002): 166
George Haggerty, "Queer company": The turn of the screw and The haunting of Hill House," in  Queer Gothic (University of Illinois Press, 2006) 131-150
Dale Bailey, American nightmares : the haunted house formula in American popular fiction (Bowling Green State University Popular Press, 1999)
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Create a bibliography
Tools that will help you manage your references and create a bibliography:

BibMe (free web-based tool to identify citations and format them)

Additional resources

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Ask A Librarian - IM


Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian

Research Consultation
Request an individual session to get help with your research. You can expect the session within 2-3 days.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours by appt.

Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website