OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

HC 207: The Reading Crisis

Find Books

Kresge Library Catalog --Includes books, films, journals (but does NOT index articles)

WorldCat --union catalog of libraries worldwide

MelCat --union catalog of many Michigan libraries; 1st stop to interloan books

Subject headings:  below are a few samples

Psycholinguistics
Reading Disability
Reading Comprehension
Reading - Remedial teaching
Computers and Literacy
Internet in Education
Literacy

Proposal Writing for Grants

Boolean Keyword searching may get you even more:

psycholinguistics and reading
computers and reading

Boolean Keyword Searching

"And" requires that all terms must be in your search results. It serves to narrow your search. Dogs and Cats--This means each result will be about both dogs and cats.

"Or" gets you MORE. Use it between similar terms. Dogs or Cats--This means each result will be about either dogs or cats (or possibly even about both dogs and cats).

Sample Library Catalog search:

"child language" and reading and psycholinguistics

For a quick tutorial go to the University of Wakaito library's web site--click on "Search Strategies" and then on "Keyword Search Tools."

Find Articles

New Info: Issues in K-12 Education:  Selections from CQ Researcher.  Los Angeles:  Sage, 1910.  Library is ordering the hardcover book:  link to record in Library Catalog.  Here is the link to the excerpts that are in Google Books.  Book contains articles in the "Reading Crisis" special issue of CQ Researcher (February 22, 2008).

LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts --
Includes abstracts (summaries) of items it indexes.  Coverage begins with 1973. Useful to limit to "English only" and "journal articles only." Indexes books, book chapters, dissertations as well as journal articles. Has an online thesaurus.

ERIC via CSA --the standard index for Education (very broadly defined). Coverage begins in 1966. It is a great source for linguistics. Indexes primarily journal articles and unpublished reports and presentations [ERIC Documents]. Has online thesaurus (get to from "Search Tools" tab). [Search "age groups" in thesaurus to find formal subject headings/descriptors for age groups.] Online links to many documents (ED) from 1992 on, before on microfiche. Use get it link links for journals.

PsycINFO -goes back to 1887. Another good source with many references to "psycholinguistics" and to other linguistics topics. Useful to limit searches to "English only" and "journal articles only." Note that you can also limit to a particular age group from the search page. From the "Search Tools" tab you can get to the thesaurus (listing of subject terms/descriptors). Indexes articles, books, chapters in books, and dissertations.

JSTOR --Online collection of many scholarly journals from volume 1 until 2 to 5 years ago (and now with some current articles). Full text of articles is searchable! Problem: JSTOR does not use subject headings. If you get too many results searching your terms in "full-text" try restricting them to "article title."  Remember that not all important education/linguistics journals are in JSTOR.

Academic OneFile --This database indexes journals, magazines, and newspapers in a wide variety of disciplines and thus might uncover articles with viewpoints beyond education and linguistics.  Try the "Browse Subjects" tab, type in reading, and then look at the "related subjects."

Journals from the International Reading Association--
Reading Online--look at the subject index.
Reading Teacher
Reading Research Quarterly
Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy

Reference Sources--Background
Literacy in America; an Encyclopedia of History, Theory, and Practice  Ref. L151.L487 2002

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Ref. P29.I58 2003

Encyclopedia of Language and Education:  Volume 2, Literacy
  Ref. P40.8.E53 1997 v.2

Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science

Grant Information
Foundation Directory  Ref. AS911.A2F65--Organization of book is by place.  See "Education, Reading" in the subject index.  Numbers given refer to entries for foundation offering grants on that topic.

Annual Register of Grant Support  Ref. AS911.A2A67--Here arrangement is by broad topic--one of which is "Education."  You can also check "Reading" in the subject index. 

Sponsoring Agencies Websites (from the OU Office of Grants, Contracts and Sponsored Research)

Designing Scuccessful Grant Proposals
Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment
Ask a librarian
Stop by the Reference Desk--main floor across from the elevators

Call us--248-370-4426

Request a Research Consultation--Just fill out a form (at the Reference Desk or ONLINE), and, we will schedule you for a 30 to 45 minute one-on-one session with a librarian.  Consultations are usually available within a day or so of your request.

Chat with us--We can be reached via Instant Message as kresgeref on Yahoo Messenger, MSN Messenger, AIM, or google talk any time the Reference Desk is staffed.

E-Mail us--Please use our reference question form to submit your email reference questions. You can also email us directly at ref@oakland.edu.
Other Info

get it link

When you are using the library's databases, be sure to click on the blue link when the article you want does not have a full text link in the database.  will then take you to the article from another source. If there is no online access for the article, you can click on the library catalog link to see if there are print holdings. If the libary has no print copy of the article, you can link to a form to request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

InterLibrary Loan
In addition to requesting articles via the link and using MelCat for books not found via the Library Catalog, you can also fill out online interlibrary loan requests via ILLiad.

MLA Citation--excellent guide from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).

APA Style--also from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).

RefWorks - a reference management tool that allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

RefWorks logo


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News