eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

History
Journal articles
America: History & Life Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present

Search America: History and Life
 
Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. How to export to RefWorks

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Archives the full-text of articles from numerous history journals.

History Cooperative Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full-text articles from 22 leading history journals, including "The Michigan Historical Review"

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks

Arts and Humanities Citation Index Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Indexes articles about topics in the arts and humanities (literature, music, film studies, etc.). Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work. How to export to RefWorks

Primary sources online
American Periodicals Online Series Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This source includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

New York Times Historical Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Offers full-text, full-image articles from 1851 – 2008 of The New York Times. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks

American Memory
: the online collections of the Library of Congress, organized by theme and by period.

Chronicling America: historic American newspapers (1836-1922) at the Library of Congress.

National Archives:
  • DocsTeach (thousands of historical documents to be used in the classroom)
  • Online Public Access search (For an overview of the holdings at NARA, see their Research topics pages)
  • Digital Vaults (an interactive exploration of primary sources at the National  Archives. Create your own collection and even create posters or movies).
     
Seeking Michigan: digital collections of the Archives of Michigan (maps, photos, pre-statehood documents, civil war records...)

Internet Archivea non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.

World History Sources: primary sources to support world history teaching.

History Matters list of web resources by topic and period.

Social Explorer: Census data presented in interactive maps. The public edition (free of charge) contains socio-economic and demographic data  from 1790 to 2009.

Hathi Trust: Books, journals and more. Works in the public domain are available full text.

Directories of archives
ArchiveGrid: Catalog of the collections of many libraries, museums, and archives.

American Historical Association Archives Wiki: A searchable list of information on print and digital archives worldwide.

Repositories of  Primary Sources: Listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources  in the United States and around the world.

WorldCat: Search the collections of libraries around the world. Restrict search to archival materials.

Digital Library Federation Digital Collections Registry: Lists the digital collections of museums, libraries, and historical societies.

IMLS DCC: Search the digital collections of major institutions in the U.S.

Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada
Other useful websites
OAISTER is the largest search engine for online academic material. Includes digitized book and journal articles, manuscript/archival material, photographic images, audio and visual files, data sets, and theses.
Images
In addition to the digital collections of primary sources listed above, images can be found in the following:

ARTstor Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
History book reviews
Reviews in Historyan e-journal edited by British historians containing reviews by experts on all topics.

H-net reviews: online reviews of the latest scholarship in all fields of history.

New Books in History
: discussions with historians about their new books.
Books
Library catalog
Use the library catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and government documents at the library.

ACLS Humanities Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A digital collection of over 1,700 full-text books offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twelve learned societies, nearly 95 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office.

Cambridge Histories Online Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Over 260 volumes covering American and British history, world history, and more.

Blackwell Companions to American History
A series of volumes on various aspects and periods of American history.

Blackwell Companions to World History
A series of volumes on the history of various countries.

Google Books
Full text of books that are out of copyright.

Hathi Trust
A searchable database of digitized books from the University of Michigan libraries, some of which are full text.
Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have an item, you can request materials be sent to Kresge Library for you:

MelCat
MeLCat is a catalog of Michigan libraries, where you can place a request.
Illiad
Illiad is an interlibrary loan system, where you can fill out the details of the materials you want.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian

Research Consultation
Request an individual session to get help with your research. You can expect the session within 2-3 days.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours by appt.

Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website