Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

HST 300 - Seminar in Historical Research (Milne)

Articles
Here are the main databases for scholarly articles on the colonial period in America:

America: History & Life Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present

Search America: History and Life
 
JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately three year ago. How to export to RefWorks

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.

History Cooperative Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full-text articles from 22 leading history journals, including "The Michigan Historical Review", "The Journal of American History" and "The William and Mary Quarterly"

To find articles that are not available online in one of the databases above, be sure to use the link to determine if the article is available online in another database or in print in the library.

Some of the most important journals in colonial history are:

  • The William and Mary Quarterly. The leading journal in its field of interest, The William and Mary Quarterly publishes refereed scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World-New World contacts to the early nineteenth century and beyond. Its articles, notes and documents, and reviews range from British North America and the United States to Europe, West Africa, the Caribbean, and the Spanish American borderlands.
  • Eighteenth Century Studies. The journal publishes work on all aspects of 18th century culture.
  • The Journal of American History. One of the leading scholarly publications in the field of American history.
  • The American Historical Review.
Primary sources
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This full-text historical collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Take a look at our guide to EAI for an introduction on searching or browsing the imprints. How to export to RefWorks

Colonial news papers at KL (microcards)
Anthologies of primary sources at KLUnited States History Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 Sources

Online primary sources
The Avalon Project
Colonial Charters, Grants and Related Documents (Avalon Project)
The Plymouth Colony Archive Project
Colonial Connecticut Records, 1636-1776
Virtual Jamestown
Colonial and State Records of South Carolina
Massachusetts online archive
Salem Witch Trial Documents
George Whitefield's Sermons
Library of Congress Archives
Papers of Benjamin Franklin
Colonial Era Maps
Library of Congress Map Collection
David Rumsey Map Collection
Hargrett Map Collection
Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850 (New York Public Library)
Colonial Currency
Bethlehem Digital History Project
Digital Archive of American Architecture
PBS, Digital Archive of the West to 1806
Images of the Atlantic slave trade and slave life in the Americas
The Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
The Transatlantic Slave Trade (Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture)
France in America (Library of Congress and BNF)
Primary sources pertaining to early American history
Canadiana Discovery Portal (search across Canadian archives)
archivescanada.ca (search and browse archives in Canada)
British History Online (large online collections on British history, including American colonies)
Virginia Gazette

Guides on analyzing primary sources:
"Making Sense of Evidence," History Matters

Companion to Colonial America

Daniel Vickers, ed. A Companion to Colonial America (Google Books preview)

Also on reserve at KL

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Beyond Kresge Library

To request an item from another library:
 
MelCat (Michigan libraries)
or   
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).

Use WorldCat to find books at libraries beyond Michigan
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing manual
Kate Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Reference LB 2369 .T8 2007)

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News