OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

HST 361/WGS 361 - History of American Families

Online Library Resources
Biography & Genealogy Master Index Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.  Thanks to MeL


HeritageQuest Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
HeritageQuest Online provides access to digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records from 1790-1930. Other valuable content includes Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank records, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), and digitized pages from more than 28,000 genealogy and local history books.
Thanks to MeL

Other Online Resources
Ancestor Hunt
Numerous online search tools available, including the very useful "Surname Search Portal."

Ancestry.com
Premier fee-based online searching tool for genealogists, both amateur and expert. Search U.S. Census images, the Social Security Death Index, shared family files, and more. 
  • NOTE: Many area public libraries have access to Ancestry Library Edition, which provides access to much of the same material, at no cost to library patrons!

Archives.com

Fee-based family history research site featuring historical newspapers, census images, birth records, obituaries, and more.

EllisIsland.org

Search and view ship manifest records online for passengers arriving at Ellis Island. This is a free search service maintained by The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.

Family Search
Online family history research tool maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Search vital records, pedigree resources files, family history websites and more. Contains research guides and tips.

Fold3
"Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served." Fee-based service.

GENDIS
This searchable resource contains more than 200,000 transcribed Michigan death records, dating from 1867-1885.

Seeking Michigan
The online platform for the Michigan Historical Center. It includes Archives of Michigan research guides and indexes, a blog, and educator resources – all from the Michigan Historical Center and Archives of Michigan staff.


Library Contact
Picture: Beth Kraemer

Beth Kraemer
Associate Professor
kraemer@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

To get research assistance, email Beth or book an appointment below!


Tutorials
Genealogy "How-To" Guide
A useful resource from Family Tree Maker and Genealogy.com containing step-by-step guides to conducting genealogy research.

Getting Started
A handy one-stop source for beginners, from Ancestry.com


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News