OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

HST 495 - French Colonies in North America

Articles and book chapters
America: History & Life Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The definitive index for American history
Search America: History and Life

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.

MLA Bibliography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Good for travel literature, popular culture, and more.
Primary sources
Early settlements
The Works of Samuel de Champlain, ed. H. P. Biggar (online, Champlain Society)
The Voyages of Samuel de Champlain, ed. W. L. Grant (F1030.1 C494)
Marc Lescarbot, The History of New France
Jesuit Relations (print)
Jesuit Relations website (This site contains the entire English translation of the The Jesuit Relations, originally compiled and edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites)
Word from New France: the selected letters of Marie de l'Incarnation, ed. J. Marshall (BX 4705 .M36 A413)

Later settlements
Early Narratives of the Northwest: 1634-1699, ed. Louise Phelps Kellogg (F482 .K29). Also online (Internet Archive).  Soem narratives also in  American Journeys
Cadillac Papers, ed. Michigan Pioneer and Historical Society (vol. 33 and 34 - internet archive)
The western country in the 17th century; the memoirs of Lamothe Cadillac and Pierre Liette, ed. M. M. Quaife (E78.N76 C3)
“Documents regarding the French fort at Detroit.” in the Appendix of Vol. 2 of Ft. Pontchartrain at Detroit, by T. Kent (F 574 .D457 K46 2001)
Duluth, Daniel Greysolon, Memoir on the Sioux Country (American Journeys)
Dunnigan B.L., Frontier Metropolis : Picturing Early Detroit, 1701-1838 (F 574 .D443 D86 2001)
Hennepin, Louis, A New Discovery of a Vast Country (American Journeys)
Hennepin, Louis, Narrative of the Voyage to the Upper Mississippi (LOC)
Lahontan, Louis-Armand de Lom d’Arce,  New Voyages to North America, vol, 1 and 2 (Internet Archive)
Lalemant, Jérome, Journey of Raymbault and Joques to the Sault (American Journeys)
La Potherie, Claude Charles Le Roy de, Adventures of Nicolat Perrot (American Journeys)
Marquette, Jacques, Father Marquette’s Journal (Room 154, F 1030.2 .F37 2001)
Nicolas, Louis, Codex Canadensis
Edge of empire : Documents of Michilimackinac, 1671-1716 (F 572 .M16 E44 2008)
Raymond, Charles de, On the Eve of the Conquest (F 1030.9 .R3913 1997)

Document collections
Women in New France (E 98.W8 W65725 2005 )
Letters from New France: The Upper Country, 1686-1783 (F 352 .L48 1992)
A Few Acres of Snow: Documents in Pre-Confederation Canadian History (F 1032 .F49 2003)

Seven Years' War
Memoirs and Letters of Cardinal de Bernis (Special Collections - Bk. Rm. DC 135 .B5 A3 1901)
Mayhew, Jonathan, Two discourses delivered Oct. 25, 1759  (Special Collections - Bk. Rm. E 199 .M46). Also available online through Early American Imprints.
Pitt, William, Correspondence of William Pitt  (E199 .P68 1969)

Additional sources
For more sources see:
Find Books
  • Kresge Library catalog Unrestricted Resource
    You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
  • MelCat
    A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
  • WorldCat Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
    A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
Locate a Cited Article

To determine whether KL owns a book or journal article

-- such as: Allan Greer, "Colonial Saints: Gender, Race, and Hagiography in New France, " William and Mary Quarterly (2000): 323-348 --

you can:

  • copy the title of the article in OneSearch, using quotation marks, and search
  • or check to see if KL owns the journal, William and Mary Quarterly by searching the  Library Catalog
If not, you can order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News