OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

IB 679 - Professional Learning Through Collaborative Action Research

Find Books and Journal Titles
Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books and journals that we have in print and online.

MelCat
This is a statewide catalog containing holdings from many Michigan libraries. You can request books from other libraries using MelCat, and these books will be sent to Kresge Library for you to use.
Find Articles
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Mental Measurements Yearbook
Here you'll find descriptions and reviews of current testing instruments. Corresponds to volume 9 to present of print Mental Measurements Yearbook. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication).

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!
Does the Library have the article I need?

To find an article, use the Library Catalog to see if we have access to a particular journal title either in print or online. For example, if you needed the following article, you would perform a journal title search in the library catalog for Cognition to find out if we have access to volume 101, issue 2:

  • Stromswold, K. (2006). Why aren't identical twins linguistically identical? Genetic, prenatal and postnatal factors. Cognition, 101(2), 333-384.
The Library Catalog indicates that we do have this article online through ScienceDirect.

 If we don't have your article electronically or in-print, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad.

Online Reference Materials
Countries and Their Cultures Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
"Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison."
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
"Five foundational topics provide an overall grounding for the more than 400 entries that follow. The content of these five chapters includes an overview of the history of cross-cultural school psychology in the United States, a review of cross-cultural competencies, discussion about disparities in school services, consideration of multicultural assessment tools, and future directions in the field of school psychology." (Preface)
Philosophy of Education Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The encyclopedia (1996) is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present.
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library

Office hours: for LIB 250 students, Monday 3-5pm.
Otherwise:
Ask A Librarian - IM


Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian

Research Consultation
Schedule an individual session to get help with your research!

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Country Information
Research Guide on Country Information. Here find links to all sorts of country information including population, literacy rates, economic conditions, and social structure.
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News