Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Japanese

Online and Print Dictionaries
Online dictionaries

Rikai - Browser plugin that provides kanji readings and meanings when you hover over Japanese text. (Firefox, Chrome).

Jim Breen WWWJDict

Goo Jisho

Tangorin Japanese Use hashtags to limit to a domain of knowledge, like #law or #science.

Japan Knowledge Plus Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff contains Japanese and English/Japanese dictionaries, including:
  • the Shogakukan Unabridged Dictionary of the Japanese Language
  • the Digital Dai-ji-sen Japanese Dictionary
  • the Shogakukan Random House English-Japanese Dictionary

Print dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Japanese-English learner's dictionary
Random House Japanese-English English-Japanese dictionary
Japanese business language : an essential dictionary Kodansha's effective Japanese usage dictionary: a concise explanation of frequently confused words and phrases
Oxford picture dictionary. English/Japanese

Complete list of dictionaries available at KL:  Japanese language dictionaries, japanese language dictionaries English
Find background information
Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture

Dictionary of Literary Biography : Contains biographies, critical analysis and bibliographies for authors of every nation and literary discipline. It has a volume on medieval Japanese writers, another on the 1868-1945 period and one on post World War II authors.

Japan Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture

A Concise dictionary of modern Japanese history

Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia (Kodansha): the most comprehensive encyclopedia about Japan in the English language. An online version of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan is available via Japan Knowledge Plus Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff


Country information:
Find articles
Bibliography of Asian Studies Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This bibliography is comparable to the print Bibliography of Asian Studies. This source is an index to western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Coverage: 1971-present.
You can browse by country, including Japan.

Japan Knowledge Plus Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff

Consists of over 30 titles of reference materials and some full text journals. Includes encyclopedias like the Encyclopedia Nipponica (in Japanese) and the Kodansha Encyclopedia (in English), as well as a number of dictionaries such as the Shogakukan Random House English-Japanese dictionary, with 345,000 entries. Also includes atlases, videos, and full text books (the collection of Tokyo bunko). See complete list.



JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Hundreds of full-text journals in a variety of subject areas, including Japanese literature, history, arts, etc. Includes the Journal of Japanese Studies and Monumenta Nipponica. Coverage of most journals extends back to the journal's first issue (sometimes in the 1800s) up to, but not including the last few years. How to export to RefWorks

Tips for searching JSTOR:
  • always choose "advanced search".
  • You can select "Asian studies" from the list of disciplines, but other disciplines may include articles about Japan.

CiNii Articles

Search academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database and databases.major features. Many articles are open access while others can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Contains a few journals in Asian studies, including recent issues of the Journal of Japanese Studies and Monumenta Nipponica.

MLA Bibliography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Covers Japanese language and literature as well as Japanese Canadian literature.

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The most comprehensive listing of articles for the history of countries outside North America. How to export to RefWorks

Japan-related journals at OU:
Find images
ARTstor Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Includes over 14,000 images from or about Japan.

East Asia Image Collection
An open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52)
Free Online Language Learning Tools
Forvo - a wiki where native speakers can post the pronounciation of words. You can learn how to pronounce a word and also see how speakers in different regions pronounce it differently. 

Wordsteps
- a fun way to learn new vocabulary

CAPL - a growing collection of images for language learning

JapanesePod101 - Almost daily podcast that provides daily Japanese lessons at the beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels. Subscribe in iTunes.

Lang-8 - Write journal entries in the language you are learning and native speakers will help correct grammar and vocabulary.

Anki - A spaced repetition software (SRS) flashcard program, offers excellent Japanese support. Users share decks of vocabulary, grammar, and kanji.
Translation
 
Find Books
Search the library for books by subjects related to Japan:
Japan
Japanese Literature
Japan--History
Women--Japan

Readers
Japanese language readers at KL


eBook collections

HathiTrust--Subject: Japan Freely available e-books related to Japan

Aozora Bunko Full-text classical Japanese literature

Kindai Digital Library Digitized books from the Meiji and Taisho periods.

Beyond Kresge Library
To request an item from another library:
 
MelCat (Michigan libraries)
or   
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
 
Digital collections
Digital Collections of the National Archives of Japan
Includes documents, scrolls, maps, photographs, drawings, and more. Can be searched and browsed by category.

National Diet Library, Kindai Digital Library
Full text of some 35,000 titles from the Meiji era (1868-1912). Guidance in English.

Japanese Centre of International P.E.N.
Full text of modern Japanese literature.

E-Asia Digital Library: Japan
Japanese books and resources in English translation provided by the University of Oregon.

FOREast: Internet East Asia Library

Kyoto Digital Library

Websites of interest
Japan Foundation (English)
Japanes government sponsored grants and events.
News

Loading ...

For more information

KL pathfinder on Japanese art.
KL pathfinder on Japanese history.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment
Picture: Meghan Finch

Meghan Finch
Assistant Professor
mmfinch@oakland.edu
248.370.2457

Office: 241 Kresge Library
Office Hours: Thurs 3-4pm (sign up)


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News