OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LBS 502 - French Culture through Film

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Finding Articles
CRITICISM AND ANALYSIS

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.


Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.


Film Literature Index Unrestricted Resource
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 350 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals. How to export to RefWorks


Art Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews.

Expanded Academic ASAP Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images. How to export to RefWorks



REVIEWS

LexisNexis Academic Universe Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text access to newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, news wires, and transcripts.

New York Times - current Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full-text from 1995 to the present date. How to export to RefWorks


New York Times Historical Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Offers full-text, full-image articles from 1851 – 2009 of The New York Times. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks


Be sure to check the Databases by Subject listing on the Library website for additional database suggestions.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment
Picture: Beth Kraemer

Beth Kraemer
Associate Professor
kraemer@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

To get research assistance, email Beth or book an appointment below!


Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Web Sites
FACE: French American Cultural Exchange
This organization, housed in the French Embassy in New York, is "dedicated to nurturing French-American relations through innovative international projects in the arts, education, and cultural exchange."

UbuWeb

A free resource "dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts"

The Franco-American Website: French Movies
A somewhat whimsical site that describes in great detail some highlights of French film.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News