?>
Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OUWB School of Medicine
OUWB School of Medicine
OUWB School of Medicine
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

Medicine

Find Articles
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessPhysiotherapy
Collection of full-text books, multi-media and study aids from McGraw-Hill for physical therapists and other health care providers. Includes "Anatomy and Physiology Revealed."

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Three-dimensional videos of expertly dissected human anatomic specimens.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Alt-Health Watch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness are included here. Many articles are available full-text. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Anatomy.TV
Interactive, 3-D anatomy resource. Rotate, add or remove layers to learn more about anatomical structures. Use the case studies and the test function to enhance learning.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Bates' Visual Guide
Streaming videos that accompany the textbook, Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present
How to Export to Refworks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey
Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.   How to export to Refworks.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
DARE is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK and evaluates systematic reviews in the field of healthcare and medicine. A summary of the review and critical commentary are written by experts in the topic area and in systematic reviews as a research method.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool created for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. DynaMed covers more than 3,200 clinical topics and is updated daily with content evaluated for validity, relevance and convenience.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff EMBase
Comprehensive coverage of the preclinical, medical and pharmacological sciences. Strong in the European literature, EMBase includes 2,000 not currently covered by Medline.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff GenderWatch
Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas - including health and wellness. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.


Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides access to article citations containing information on measurement instruments ( questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health and Wellness Resource Center
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff JAMA Evidence
JAMAevidence is an instructional resource from the American Medical Association covering the fundamental concepts of evidence-based medicine (EBM). Includes downloadable PowerPoint slide sets for teaching, as well and the full electronic text of the book, Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice by Gordon Guyatt. Note: Limited to 2 concurrent users.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Provides citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field and the highest impact journals in a field. The OU community has access to the Science edition and the Social Sciences edition of JCR.
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Netter Presenter
Anatomical images from Netter's "Green Books," Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff OvidSP
Collection of hundreds of full-text ebooks and journals from Lippincott Williams and Wilkins. Includes medicine, health sciences and nursing. Also provides access to MEDLINE.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycARTICLES
Here you'll find full-text articles from many journals published by the American Psychological Association,  the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO, so if you need more information, go to PsycINFO. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff PsychiatryOnline
Full-text access to books, jounals and guidelines from the American Psyciatric Association, including the DSM-5.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycTESTS
A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. View the Customizing PubMed to link to Kresge Library Resources guide. How to export to RefWorks

PubMed Central
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Science Citation Index
Information on who has cited a specific article. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Science Direct
Full-text journals published by Elsevier; coverage is generally from 1995-present. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff SPORTDiscus
Topics include physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport psychology, occupational health & therapy, and public health. Includes international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, 1800 to the present. How to export to RefWorks

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Statistical Abstract of the United States Online
The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web. Visit the Statistical Abstract Guide for more information on using this resource.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Thieme E-Book Library
Collection of 73 textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences. Authorized users can read the books online or download them to their personal devices.
Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy
Access to images for download, manipulation, or live presentation.
TRIP
A  free clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Simultaneously searches several evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Remote access limited to enrolled students and OU-based faculty.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication).

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff Winking Skull Pro
Images from the Gilroy, Thieme Atlas of Anatomy in addition to clinical MRI and CT radiographs. Test your knowledge of anatomy by removing the labels and filling them in yourself. Register for an account while on campus for access to the full site and to track your progress.

Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Picture: Keith Engwall

Keith Engwall
Assistant Professor
engwall@oakland.edu
248.370.3773

Picture: Misa Mi

Misa Mi
Associate Professor
mi@oakland.edu
248.370.3774

Office: 130 Kresge Library 
Office hours: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Picture: Stephanie Swanberg

Stephanie Swanberg
Assistant Professor
swanberg@oakland.edu
248.370.3776

Research Assistance
Ask-a-Medical-Librarian
  • by phone at 248-370-3772
  • via email at medref@oakland.edu
  • in person in the Medical Library Office (7:30am-6:00pm)
Research Consultation

Request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster