OU Libraries
OU Libraries
OU Libraries:
Open 24 Hours
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office:
Open 7:30am - 8pm

Hours | Location

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

MDM2 9322 - Behavioral Science

TEXTBOOKS
RECOMMENDED:
BRS Behavioral Science, 6th edition by Barbara Fadem (Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, 2014)
 
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: Helping Patients Change Behavior by Stephen Rollnick et al (Guilford Press, 2008)

Behavior and Medicine, 5th edition, edited by Danny Wedding et al (Hogrefe Pub., c2010)

NOTE: 2 print reference copies of each title are available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room unless otherwise noted
SUPPLEMENTAL BOOKS
>> REFERENCE BOOKS:

>> OTHER eBOOKS:

Adolescent Health Care: A Practical Guide, 5th edition by Lawrence S. Neinstein (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2008) (Books@Ovid)

Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice, 3rd edition by Mitchell D Feldman et al. (McGraw-Hill, 2008) (AccessMedicine)

Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics by Robert Voight (American Academy of Pediatrics, 2011)

Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics: A Handbook for Primary Care, 2nd edition, edited by Steven Parker (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2005) (Books@Ovid)

Handbook of Behavioral Medicine: Methods and Applications by A. Steptoe (Springer, 2010)

Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 6th edition
by Jeffrey B. Halter et al. (McGraw-Hill, 2009) (AccessMedicine)

Problem-based Behavioral Science and Psychiatry edited by Anthony Guerrero et al (eds) (Springer, 2008)
CHILD & ADOLESCENT DEVELOPMENT
>> VIDEOS & WEBSITES
  • CDC. Child Development - rich and extsensive resource on developmental milestones, parenting tips, etc.
  • Child Trends Research - comprehensive listing of Child Trends research and reports related to topics in child development including well being, health, education, and more.
  • PBS Frontline. Medicating Kids (ADHD) - five part video series following four Colorado families and their decision to medicate their ADHD children
  • PBS Parents. Understanding and Raising Girls - strategies and stories for parents on how to raise girls focusing on issues of body image, self-confidence, and social conduct
  • TEDx Talks. Media & Children - From TEDx 2011, Dimitri Christaki, pediatrician and researcher, shares his insights on the effects of media on children's brains.

>> RECOMMENDED READING
Anzman-Frasca S, Stifter CA, Birch LL. Temperament and childhood obesity risk: a review of the literature. Journal of Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics. 2012;33(9):732-745.
INTERPERSONAL VIOLENCE
>> RESOURCES RELATED TO CHILDREN & ADOLESCENTS
  • PBS. A Path Appears - this three-part video series follows the stories women facing prostitution, domestic violence, teen pregancy, and child labor in our own country and beyond. DVDs Coming Soon! Companion website with links to engagement and educational materials also available.

>> RESOURCES RELATED TO ADULTS

  • NBC News. Campus Sexual Assaults - quick, 2-minute video on the prevalence of sexual assaults on college campuses
 
>> ADDITIONAL VIDEOS & WEBSITES
  • CDC. Violence Prevention - contains excellent resources on child, youth, community, intimate partner, and elder abuse.
  • CNN Guns Project - Tracks shooting incidents across the U.S. each day to highlight stories about community violence. Also includes illustrative statistics.

>> RECOMMENDED READING
Committee on Child Abuse and Neglect. Policy statement -- Child abuse, confidentiality, and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. Pediatrics. 2010;125(1):197-201.

Felitti VJ, Anda RF, Nordenberg D et al. The relationship of adult health to childhood abuse and household dysfunction to many of the leading causes of death in adults: The Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study. American Journal of Preventive Medicine. 1998;14(4):245-258.

Moninger J. Guns Within Reach. Parents Magazine. May 2013.

Porcerelli JH, West PA, Binienda, J, Cogan R. Physical and psychological sypmptoms in emotionally abused and non-abused women. Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine. 2006; 19(2):201-4.

Yang J, Eggers C, Connor T. 'No rules any more': Chicago violence hits hard at suburban hospital. NBC News. August 19, 2013.
AGING
AARP. Health Effects of Social Isolation - series of video clips from Dr. Berkman of Harvard exploring the health consequences of isolation in our aging population.

Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI). The Conversation Project - dedicated to helping people talk about end-of-life wishes with their loved ones

NBC News. The Coming Alzheimer's Crisis Infographic

PBS Frontline. Living Old - "A powerful and intimate journey into the uncharted territory of Americans living longer than ever - and what it means for them, their loved ones and our society." Watch the streaming videos, read the stories and interviews, learn about the issues.

Pew Research Social & Demographic Trends. Growing Old in America: Expectations vs. Reality - read the overview and executive summary of this important report.

Still Alice (2014) Trailer - Hollywood depiction of a woman with early onset Alzheimers starring Julianne Moore.

TEDx Talks. Battle with Alzheimer's Disease. At TEDx 2011, Dr. Zahra Moussavi, a Canada Research Chair in Biomedical Engineering discusses her special interest and research in early diagnosis of Alzheimer's and neurorehabilitation discusses.

SHARING BAD NEWS
PBS Frontline. Being Mortal - 55-minute superb documentary from Atul Gawande, MD a Harvard surgeon and author about end-of-life conversations.
Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Picture: Stephanie Swanberg

Stephanie Swanberg
Assistant Professor
swanberg@oakland.edu
248.370.3776

Research Assistance
Ask-a-Medical-Librarian
  • by phone at 248-370-3772
  • via email at medref@oakland.edu
  • via text message at 248-266-0484
  • fill out our online request form
  • in person in the Medical Library Office

Research Consultation

Call us or use our Research Consultation Calendar to request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
SOCIOECONOMIC DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH
>> RESOURCES RELATED TO POVERTY
Child Trends. Early Childhood Highlights - The Effects of Homelessness on Young Children. 2012 report from Child Trends, the non-profit research center specializing in research and data related to children and youth.

Dateline. Breathless - short documentary exploring the impact of poverty on childhood asthma.

Detroit Free Press. Heart & Sole: Detroiter Walks 21 Miles in Work Commute. February 3, 2015.

PBS Frontline. Poor Kids - 53-minute streaming video on proverty through the eyes of children

PBS Frontline. Two American Families - 83-minute streaming video examining the impact of poverty on two families over 20 years

California Newsreel. Unnatural Causes: Is Inequality Making Us Sick? - watch clips from this important documentary highlighting the effects of social issues such as wealth, ethnicity, race, and environment on our lives.

>> RESOURCES RELATED TO HUNGER
Center for Hunger Free Communitiies

SBIRT. Boston University School of Public Health provides educational resources for physicians to discuss health behavior changes with their patient

A Place at the Table - provides information on childhood hunger and encourages involvement in this national issue
PATIENT CENTERED CARE & TREATMENT ADHERENCE
Remaking American Medicine (DVD 4232) - DVD available for checkout from the Kresge Library Circulation Desk. Checkout time is 3 days for students.

Institute for Healthcare Improvement Open School - Shared Decision Making Activity includes discussion questions, videos, and case scenarios

Institute for Healthcre Improvement. Patient Centered Care: Rebecca Bryson's Story - short, 9-minute video on challenges faced by patients in the healthcare system.

North Carolina Program on Health Literacy: The Teach Back Method

PBS. Rx: The Quiet Revolution - Journey across America in this documentary film highlighting how medical practice is being changed by putting the patient first.

Society of Hospital Medicine - MARQUIS: Medication Reconciliation Resource Center includes links and information on medication safety such as safety pocket cards, videos, and guidelines.

van Dulmen S, Sluijs E, van Dijk L, de Ridder D, Heerdink R, Bensing J. Patient adherence to medical treatment: a review of reviews. BMC Health Services Research. 2007;7(55).
CAREGIVING
AARP. Caregiving Resource Center - resources and advice for caregivers

National Alliance for Caregiving - nonprofit organization with resources for both family caregiver and professionals

TEDx Talks. All Alzheimer's Caregivers are Not Created Equal - From TEDx 2012, Lyda C. Arévalo-Flechas, PhD, MSN, RN presents her research on the factors influencing Latino/Hispanic caregivers' perception of the experience of caring for a relative with Alzheimer's disease.
HUMAN FACTORS
Keim B. Is multitasking bad for us? - read the article on the PBS Nova website
VETERANS
The Invisible War - Academy Award nominated documentary on sexual assault in the miliary. This is an accompanying website offering information on how to get involved.

National Center for PTSD - From the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, this website includes information for both the public and healthcare professionals on PTSD including overviews of the condition, recent research and publications, and links to open courses, videos, and toolkits.
  • Professional Section - includes training materials as well as information and tools to help health care professionals with assessing and treating PTSD.
PBS. When Women Come Marching Home - 56-minute documentary exploring PTSD in women veterans
TEST PREP & REVIEW
>> eRESOURCES:
ExamMaster Online: 203 USMLE Step 1 Board Preparation questions available on Behavioral Sciences      

First Aid for the Basic Sciences - General Principles: Chapter 2 covers behavioral sciences
  • 3 print reference copies also available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room
USMLE Easy: 57 Step 1 Exam-style questions available Behavioral Sciences

USMLE Step 1 Secrets - Chapter 24 covers behavioral sciences

>> PRINT RESOURCES
Two print reference copies are available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room unless otherwise noted.
  • Behavioral Sciences Made Ridiculously Simple by Frederick Sierles (1998)
  • Deja Review Behavioral Science by Gene Quinn (2010)
  • High Yield Brain & Behavior by Barbara Fadem (2008)
  • High Yield Behavioral Science by Barbara Fadem (2013)
  • Rapid Review Behavioral Science by Vivian Stevens (2007)
  • Underground Clinical Vignettes: Behavioral Science by Todd Swanson et al (2007)

Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster