OU Libraries
OU Libraries
OU Libraries:
Open 24 Hours
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office:
Open 7:30am - 8pm

Hours | Location

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

MDM2 9324 - Psychopathology

Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, 5th edition by Donald Black, 2010
  • Location: 2 print reference copies available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM - V), 5th edition. American Psychiatric Association, 2013. Location: 2 reference copies available in the Medical Library Study Room

DSM V - Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
, 1st edition by Michael First, 2014

DSM V - Clinical Cases
, 1st edition by John Barnhill, 2014


Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV)
, 4th edition. American Psychiatric Association, 2000. Location: 1 print reference copy available on 2nd Floor of Kresge Library: RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2000

Quick Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-IV-TR
. American Psychiatric Association, 2000. Location: 1 print reference copy available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room
Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry, 2nd edition. Edited by Michael H. Ebert, Peter T. Loosen, Barry Nurcombe, James F. Leckman, 2008.Includes basic principles and practices in psyciatric health as well as diagnosis and treatment of psyciatric disorders in adults, adolescents, and children. 

Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health. Edited by Lee Baer and Mark Blais, 2010. Includes rating scales, screenings, and assessments for depression, anxiety disorders, eating disoders, additctions, and other mental disorders.

Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry
. Edited by Benajmin Sadock, Virginia Sadock, and Pedro Ruiz, 2009. Includes theories of personality and psychopathology, diagnosis, examination, and treatment of various disorders such as mood disorders, sleep disorders, adjustment disorders, and personality disorders. 

Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry
, 1st edtion. Theodore A Stern, et al, 2008. Reknown text for diagnosing and treating psychiatric problems in the clinical setting. Downloadable PDFs of each chapter are available

Psychoanalytic Terms and Concepts
, 4th edition. Edited by Elizabeth Auchincloss and Eslee Samberg, 2012. Location: 1 print reference copy available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room
ExamMaster Online: 1013 practice questions available on psychiatry. Go to New Exam > Medical Subject Review > Psychiatry

First Aid for the Basic Sciences - Organ Systems: Chapter 7 reviews psychiatry & psychopathology.
  • 5 print reference copies also available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room
Psychiatry Case Files: 12 case files on various psychiatric disorders including eating disorders, depression, PTSD, and schizophrenia, among others.


Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry: Each chapter features self-assessment questions.
  • Location: 2 reference copies available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room
Library Contact
Picture: Stephanie Swanberg

Stephanie Swanberg
Assistant Professor

Research Assistance
  • by phone at 248-370-3772
  • via email at medref@oakland.edu
  • in person in the Medical Library Office (7:30am-6:00pm)

Research Consultation

Request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
MedlinePlus - Mental Disorders - plain language mental health information targeting patients. Provides information on diagnosis, treatment, mental health screening tools, statistics, and links to specific conditions.

American Psychiatric Association Mental Health - includes brochures and handouts on a variety of topics on mental health. Information is also tailored for various racial and ethnic groups, ages, military veterans, and the LGBT community.

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Health & Education -  provides easy-to-read summaries and treatment options for various mental health disorders at all ages and genders. Information is available in both English and Spanish.
PsycINFO Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

PsycARTICLES Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Here you'll find full-text articles from many journals published by the American Psychological Association,  the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO, so if you need more information, go to PsycINFO. How to export to RefWorks

Search PubMed

PubMed Search

  MeSH   |   Journals   |   Citation Matcher   |   Entrez


OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster