?>
Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OUWB School of Medicine
OUWB School of Medicine
OUWB School of Medicine
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

Medical Education

Resources for undergraduate medical educators
Books - Print & Electronic
Search the OU Kresge Library catalog  or the Beaumont Medical Library catalog to find additional books on medical teaching.
Image Resources
Subscription Databases
  • AccessMedicine - Collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison’s Textbook of Medicine. Also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information. Image use guidelines: Faculty may display, download, and reproduce print or electronic copies of images for instructional purposes. Faculty may not modify or remove any proprietary notices included in the images.
  • IMAIOS -  Anatomical database providing access to thousands of images of the human body, including MRI and CT scans.
  • MDConsult - Collection of online resources from Elsevier, including full-text books, journals, patient education handouts, drug information, and images. Image use guidelines: Users may print or download images for their personal, non-commercial use (including teaching) provided that all copyright and other proprietary notices are kept intact.  
  • Netter Reference - Includes the full set of images from the 5th edition of the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy, plus another 200 additional illustrations and radiologic images. Image use guidelines: Faculty may incorporate images into teaching materials, including both print and electronic handouts. You may not modify or remove the copyright information or Netter logo from the images.
  • Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy - Includes all the images from the 2008 edition of Gilroy's Atlas of Anatomy. Image use guidelines: Images may be used for personal and classroom use only and may not be posted on an open web site. Please consult the Terms of Use on the website for more details.
  • UpToDate - Large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Available on-campus only. Image use guidelines: Includes thousands of full-color graphics and charts that can be printed or used as slides for teaching purposes. Can also be used to create handouts for lectures.
Free Image Databases
  • Creative Commons - Use the search feature to locate images with Creative Commons licenses on such services as Google and Flickr. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link.
  • DermAtlas - Dermatology database from Johns Hopkins. Images are copyrighted but may be used without permission for non-commercial teaching purposes as long as all copyright notices and accompanying disclaimers remain attached and credit is given to the DermAtlas. (Suggested format: c. DermAtlas; http://www.DermAtlas.org)
  • NEI Photos, Images, and Videos - From the National Eye Institute. Materials are not copyrighted and are free for non-commercial scientific and education use. Requires the following acknowledgement: "Courtesy: National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health.
  • NIH Image Bank - Contains images from the institutes and centers of the NIH. Images are in the public domaine and may be used, linked, or reproduced without further permission. Credit must be given to the National Institutes of Health/Department of Health and Human Services.
  • Public Health Image Library (PHIL) - Searchable databases of the CDC's pictures. Contains both public domain and copyrighted images. Images marked as public domain are freely available for educational purposes as long as you credit the original institution and contributor. You will need to get permission to use the copyrighted images.
  • Wellcome Images - Large collection covering a wide variety of topics, including more than 40,000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences. Images are freely available for download for personal use or academic teaching under Creative Commons licenses.
Copyright Resources

Copyright Law of the United States - Read the full text of the Copyright Law of the United States and Related Laws Contained in Title 17 of the United States Code

Tutorials & Brochures

Copyright - Good Habits: Getting a Handle on Copyright - Excellent tutorial posted on MedEd Portal. Developed by Jan Hart, MLS, EdD, from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine. Registration on MedEd Portal required.

Know Your Copy Rights - What You Can Do: Tips for Faculty & Teaching Assistants in Higher Education - Informative brochure from the Association of Research Libraries.

OUWB Documents
Featured Resource
Edited by OUWB Associate Professor Stephen Loftus. Click the image to connect to the ebook version.
Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Research Assistance
Ask-a-Medical-Librarian
  • by phone at 248-370-3772
  • via email at medref@oakland.edu
  • in person in the Medical Library Office (M-F: 7:30am - 8:00pm
    Sat: 8:00am - 4:30pm)
Research Consultation
Request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
Tutorials
Writing Multiple Choice Questions: An Introductory Tutorial
     This self-paced, ineractive tutorial from the NBME provides a foundation for writing quality multiple-choice questions. Organized into sections that can be completed seperately, the entire tutorial will take about 45 minutes to complete.

Curriculum Resources
Family Medicine Digital Resources Library - Funded and maintained by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. Includes conference presentations/handouts, PowerPoint presentations, learning modules, standardized patient cases, and other curricular materials. Peer reviewed.

HEAL (Health Education Assets Library) - Supported by IAMSE, HEAL is a digital respository that allows medical educators to download and re-use thousands of peer-reviewed medical education resources.

JAMAEvidence - Subscription database that pulls together resources for teaching and practicing Evidence-Based Medicine. Includes the full-text of key books ("User's Guides to the Medical Literature" and "The Rational Clinical Examination") along with slide shows that can be downloaded as PowerPoint presentations for teaching.

MedEd Portal - A service of the AAMC, MedEd Portal's purpose is to facilitate “the open exchange of the peer-reviewed teaching resources such as tutorials, virtual patients, simulation cases, lab guides, videos, podcasts and assessmant tools.” This is great opportunity for faculty to publish their teaching materials.

Medical Education Online: the Student-Teacher Interface - Includes PowerPoint presentations, syllabi, and other  materials submitted by medical educators. Not peer reviewed.

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) - Free and open resource of online teaching materials for faculty and students of higher education. This link is to the Health Sciences Portal Page.

Tough Talk: Helping Doctors Approach Difficult Conversations: A Toolbox for Medical Educators (University of Washington)
Listservs & Blogs
AHME Message Board - Sponsored by the Association for Hospital Medical Education. Interact with colleagues and share questions and answers about all aspects of medical education.

AM Rounds - Fascinating blog associated with the journal Academic Medicine. You can sign-up for email updates.

DR-ED: An Electronic Discussion Group for Medical Educators - Very active listserv maintained by the Michigan State University Office of Medical Education Research and Development.

Medical Education (wiki) - Collection of resources and best practices maintained by Deirdre Bonnycastle, clinical teaching development coordinator at the College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan. Covers three main topics: How do Medical Students Learn, Classroom Teaching Techniques, and Clinical Teaching Techniques.

Medical Education Blog - Deirdre Bonnycastle's blog on teaching in medicine.

Wing of Zock - Innovation web site that highlights transformations in academic medicine.


Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster