OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Nursing

Find Books and Articles
BOOKS:
Use the Library Catalog to find books owned by Kresge Library. Also use the catalog to see if we have access to a particular journal title either in on-line or in print.

The Library has a large collection of electronic books on health topics. You can search for these using the catalog and limit to electronic book. The LWW Medical Book Collection from Ovid has many relevant titles.

JOURNALS:
To determine whether Kresge subscribes to a particular journal either electronically or in paper search by journal title in the catalog.
You can also view the Kresge's electronic journals only and publisher journal packages.

ARTICLES:
Use the Citation Linker to locate an exact citation.
Use the A-Z list of article databases listed alphabetically

If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.

Primary Library Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present
How to Export to Refworks
Review the Researching with CINAHL tutorial.

Cochrane Library Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.   How to export to Refworks.


Health Reference Center Academic Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information. How to export to RefWorks


PubMed Unrestricted Resource
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. View the Customizing PubMed to link to Kresge Library Resources guide. How to export to RefWorks

Medline via Web of Science Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

MDConsult Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A collection of online resources from Elsevier, including full-text books, journals, patient education handouts, drug information, and images.
Secondary Databases
AccessMedicine Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.

Alt-Health Watch Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness are included here. Many articles are available full-text. How to export to RefWorks

ERIC via Proquest Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The standard database for resources in education including journal articles from research/scholarly and practitioner literature from 1966 through the present, with online direct full-text for ERIC documents from 1992-present. How to export to RefWorks

HealthScience: Sage Full-text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
HealthScience: Sage Full-text includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 46,000 articles and up to 129 years of backfiles.

PsycINFO Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. How to export to RefWorks

PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
PILOTS "is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. How to export to RefWorks


UpToDate Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Remote access limited to enrolled students and OU-based faculty.

Web of Science Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI).
Tutorials
GETTING STARTED: 
Getting Started with Nursing Research Guide

Guide for online and distance students

GENERAL RESEARCH:

Researching with CINAHL tutorial

Essential elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)

Introduction to research designs -Study design tutorial

Study comparison chart (Cornell University College of Vet Medicine)

EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE:

Evidence-Based Practice Quick Reference Guide(Alaska Medical Library)

Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC)

Evidence-Based Medicine Research tutorial Excellent tutorial teaching the concepts of Evidence-Based medicine developed by Duke University Medical Center Library and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Science Library.

Glossary of Evidence-Based Medicine terms (Centre for EBM - Tornoto)

PICO Method - Using evidence-based approach to literature review searching (U of Warwick Library)

Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Assistant Professor / Nursing and Health Sciences Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Office hours
Wednesdays 11-12:30
Kresge Library 238 - (main floor)

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)

Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Other Resources
Medline Plus Unrestricted Resource
MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.

National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

The NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries (formerly PRODIGY) are a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. (UK based)

PubMed Central Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles.

TRIP Unrestricted Resource
A  free clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Simultaneously searches several evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

Writing Help & Citation Tools
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to both RefWorks and EndNote Web. Also available is the free Firefox extension Zotero, which lives in your brower and  functions much like itunes. View Citation Tools webpage.

Citation Style Guides:

Kresge Library Links to Writing Resources
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing and grammar, writing MLA format, citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Complete the new Plagiarism tutorial

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.
Disseration Help - Getting Started (powerpoint)


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News