eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Open Access / Open Education
OPEN ACCESS
"Open-access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.” Peter Suber

Overivew of Open Access by Peter Suber author of  SPARC Open Access Newsletter

Search Open Access Research:
JURN - A curated academic search-engine, indexing 3,670 free open access ejournals in the arts & humanities.

PLoS- Public library of science - a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

INASP - International Network for the Ability of Scientific Publications, site allows for cross-searching of collections of Institutional Repositories.

DOAJ - Open Access Journals - This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals with the aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 5718 journals in the directory.

Free Medical Journals - Unrestricted full-text access to medical journals

Open Access video from SPARC
Creative Commons
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization working to increase the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and scientific content) in “the commons” — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing.

View CC descriptive video "Get Creative" about the concept of "creative commons."
Open Education Resources
Open Education.net  Forum and news site

OER Commons - a network for teaching and learning materials, having alliances with over 120 major content partners to provide a single point of access through which educators and learners can search across collections to access over 24,000 items, find and provide descriptive information about each resource, and retrieve the ones they need.

Open Education News - Open Education News is essentially a group blog. A number of individuals from the US, South Africa, and eventually other locations daily monitor the internet for news related to open education.

Open Education Tools
Creative Commons Search (beta)

Flickr creative commons images website

Google directory open content

Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT)

OpenCourseWare Consortium

Online College Classes - A collection of college courses and educational material from around the web.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

WikiMedia commons

SoundCloud  place for creators looking to share and distribute music and audio online.
Open Access blogs
Scholarly Open Access - Jeffrey Beall - Beall’s List of Predatory Publishers 2013

Open Access News blog - Peter Suber
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Assistant Professor / Nursing and Health Sciences Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

No summer Office hours
Kresge Library 238 - (main floor)

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)


Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website