OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Open Access resources for Faculty

Open Access (OA)
"Open-access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.” (Peter Suber) 
*OA removes price barriers (subscriptions, licensing fees, pay-per-view fees) and permission barriers (most copyright and licensing restrictions).

OA Requirements:
The U.S. National Institutes of Health currently requests that NIH-funded researchers deposit a copy of manuscr
ipts stemming from their research into PubMed Central, within twelve months of the article's publication in a peer-reviewed journal.


Open Access video from SPARC
The problem
Faculty researchers and authors are paid by the university to create the scholarship and research that they give away FOR FREE to scholarly publishers.

University libraries are then forced to pay exorbitant prices to purchase access to the intellectual property that their own faculty created. **This purchased access is often times not permanent or consistent.

The cost of scholarly publications is (and has been) rising at rates that are several times higher than inflation.

Significant price increases in journals every year decrease the purchasing power of libraries overall which negatively impact the overall (very limited) acquisition budget.

Data from the Association for Research Libraries show that from 1986 to 2005:
  • The average cost of serials rose 167%.
  • The average cost of a monograph rose 81%.
  • The consumer price index for this time period rose 78%.
  • Bottom line: prices are going up, and libraries can't keep up.

ljx120501webPeriodTbl3 Coping with the Terrible Twins | Periodicals Price Survey 2012
*Read 2012 Peridocial Price Survey
OA Bibliography
OA Overview:
Suber, P. (2010). Open Access Overview: Focusing on open access to peer-reviewed research articles and their preprints.

Suber, P. (2012). Open Access. The MIT Press: Cambridge, Massachusetts. Available online as ebook.

Citation Count Research:


Enabling Open Scholarship blog
- Advantages and benefits of open access

Hitchcock, S. (2011) The effect of open access and downloads ('hits') on citation impact: a bibliography of studies. The Open Citation Project - Reference Linking and Citation Analysis for Open Archives.

Swan, A. (2010) The Open Access citation advantage: Studies and results to date. Technical Report , School of Electronics & Computer Science, University of Southampton.
Open Access news and blogs
Overivew of Open Access by Peter Suber author of  SPARC Open Access Newsletter

Open Access News blog
- Peter Suber

Scholarly Open Access - Jeffrey Beall - Beall’s List of Predatory Publishers 2013
Selection of OA research databases:
arXiv - Open access to 876,925 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics (Cornell University)

DOAJ - Open Access Journals - This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals with the aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 5718 journals in the directory.

Free Medical Journals - Unrestricted full-text access to medical journals

INASP - International Network for the Ability of Scientific Publications, site allows for cross-searching of collections of Institutional Repositories.

JURN
- A curated academic search-engine, indexing 3,670 free open access ejournals in the arts & humanities.

PLoS- Public library of science - a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

Social Science Research Network (SRRN)  - consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 508,000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 415,100 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

OA Monographs
OASIS Open Access Monographs
National Academic Press - publishing OA books free to download
Copyright license alternatives
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization working to increase the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and scientific content) in “the commons” — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing.

View CC descriptive video "Get Creative" about the concept of "creative commons."
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Assistant Professor / Nursing and Health Sciences Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Office hours
Wednesdays 11-12:30
Kresge Library 238 - (main floor)

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News