Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Oakland University Alumni Association Library Resources

Find Books

Kresge Library Catalog OU alumni have library borrowing privileges (books, documents, CDs). Present your drivers license at the circulation desk.

MelCat --online catalog of many Michigan libraries; fastest way to borrow BOOKS OU does not own.

Full-Text Classic Literature Online (plus, reference and non-fiction titles)

Find Articles (Online Databases)
Resources Made Available by Kresge Library
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their first issue, excluding the most recent 1-5 years. All content published pre-1923 is openly available to the public. Covers disciplines within the sciences, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields.
Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.

Sage Knowledge Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Encyclopedias including Encyclopedia of Business in Today's World, Encyclopedia of Counseling, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, and Encyclopedia of Social Problems.

Sage Journals - A collection of more than 550 journals in the social sciences, sciences, medicine and the humanities.

Databases Made Available through the Michigan eLibrary
Academic OneFile Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

Biography & Genealogy Master Index Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.  Thanks to MeL

Books & Authors Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Recommended for: General user, Reading advice. A database to help you decide what to read next. Search by character, topic, setting, time period, genre, title, author, and series. Includes over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner, and librarian's favorites lists. Titles include both fiction and non-fiction.

Business Insights: Essentials Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Access to company and industry profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and periodicals. Thanks to MeL
Computer Database Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks

CultureGrams Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
An enyclopedia of cultures around the world.

Gale Virtual Reference Collection Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Includes Contemporary Black Biography, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (2009), American Women Writers, and many more titles!

General Business File ASAP Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Analyses of companies, industry events and trends as well as the latest in economics and politics. Offers access to broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, and journals. Thanks to MeL

Health and Wellness Resource Center Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

Health Reference Center Academic Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information. How to export to RefWorks

HeritageQuest Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
HeritageQuest Online provides access to digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records from 1790-1930. Other valuable content includes Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank records, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), and digitized pages from more than 28,000 genealogy and local history books.
Thanks to MeL

Informe! en Espanol Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Includes images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks

Infotrac Newsstand Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full-text coverage of numerous newspapers. How to export to RefWorks

Learning Express Library - ACT, GRE test prep. Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Test preparation guides for the ACT, GED, GMAT, GRE, SAT, TOEFL and others. Thanks to MeL

Michigana Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This subscription database is taken from the Sabin Americana collection giving teachers access to early American published accounts by the people who lived the events they wrote about! “Michigana” includes "130 works totaling over seventeen thousand pages of text that cover the history of the land that would become the State of Michigan in 1835".  It also has contextual essays written by historians/librarians on the different aspects of Michigan history including one on using Primary resources in the classroom.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints; brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more! Limit 4 users. Please log off when done. How to export to RefWorks

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Article Search
 
RefWorks
The RefWorks account you set-up as a student is still available to you as an alum (RefWorks is not available to those who did not have an account as a student).

RefWorks--Reference management tool that allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

RefWorks logo


Ask A Librarian - IM



Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News