OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

RDG 706 - Critical Inquiry

Find Books and Journal Titles
Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books and journals accessible through the library. Additionally, you'll find videos, DVDs, music scores, and government documents.  Click here to see how to export to RefWorks.

MelCat
This is a statewide catalog containing many Michigan libraries' holdings. You can request books from other libraries using MelCat, and these books will be sent to Kresge Library for your use.
Find Scholarly Articles
ERIC Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Education: SAGE Full Text Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers all aspects of education. How to export to RefWorks

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.

PsycINFO Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Finding a Known Item

To locate and retrieve articles or books that are cited in a bibliography or Works Cited page, use Library OneSearch or the Library Catalog to determine if Kresge Library has access to the item. For example, to find the article:

Werfel, K. L. & Schuele, C. M. (2012). Segmentation and representation of consonant blends in kindergarten children's spellings. Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools, 43(3), 292-307.

The most direct ways to search are by:

  1. Title in Library OneSearch. Use the article title - Segmentation and representation of consonant blends in kindergarten children's spellings - not the title of the journal (Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools).
  2. Journal Title in the Library Catalog.  Use the title of the journal - Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools - NOT the title of the article.
The results of both searches indicate that the University Library has access to this article online.
Other Relevant Resources
Chronicle of Higher Education Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff

Here you'll find full-text of the Chronicle, a news source of higher education.


Dissertations and Theses @ OU Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses. How to export to RefWorks

Mental Measurements Yearbook Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Here you'll find descriptions and reviews of current testing instruments. Corresponds to volume 9 to present of print Mental Measurements Yearbook. How to export to RefWorks

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!

Web of Science Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication).
Online Reference Materials
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This is an is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting (2005).
Encyclopedia of Special Education Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The third edition (2007) of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This is an essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues (2006).
Philosophy of Education Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
The encyclopedia (1996) is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present.
Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Assistant Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: W 3:30-5p & Th 10a-12p 
Available in person or online via Skype
  My status
Handbook of Reading Research
Access the online version of this classic series: The Handbook of Reading Research
These are also available in print: LB 1050 .H278, 3rd Floor, Kresge Library
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News