OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Spanish

Learn Spanish
Spanish Coat of Arms     
 
  Kresge Library has a number of Spanish dictionaries available.
       
   Collins Spanish Dictionary (online)
  Spanish Business Dictionary (online)
  Dictionary of Spanish Law (online)

Real Academia Española, Diccionario de la lengua española (online)

Spanish language Readers at Kresge Library

Free language learning tools online
Find background information
Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture (print)
The Oxford companion to Spanish literature (print)
Historical dictionary of modern Spain, 1700-1988 (print)
Dictionary of the literature of the Iberian peninsula (print)
Contemporary Hispanic biography : profiles from the international Hispanic community (print)
Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Cambridge Companion to Modern Spanish Culture
Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel
Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture
Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel
Cambridge Companion to Cervantes
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture

Dictionary of Literary Biography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Includes volumes on:

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Historical survey of the most important critics and theorists, critical schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism.  Includes an entry on Spanish theory and criticism, two on Latin American theory and criticism (Origins to 1970 and post 1970) as well as entries on specific Spanish-speaking authors.

Country information
Find articles
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Source: LC HLAS website.

JSTOR Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.

Project Muse Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.

MLA Bibliography Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Historical Abstracts Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

CiberLetras
A free online journal about the literature of Spain and Latin America, with articles in English or Spanish.

Espéculo
A free online journal of literary studies edited by a Spanish university.
Find newspapers
Informe! en Espanol Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Includes images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks

LexisNexis Academic Universe Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff .  Articles from a variety of Spanish and Latin American newspapers and magazines (see complete list).Click on the News Tab and then the Foreign Language link, then choose "Spanish". For instructions on how to search for foreign language news in LexisNexis, click here. For direct access to searching Spanish language news, click here.

EUfeeds: easy access to the latest articles from dozens of Spanish newspapers and magazines.

Hispana Virtual Library of Historical Newspapers: Spanish newspapers from the 18th century on.

ICON: links to digitzed historical Spanish newspapers.
Translation
 
Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office Hours: Thursday 3:30-5:30

Book an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Beyond Kresge Library
To request an item from another library:

 
MelCat (Michigan libraries)
or   
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
 
Websites of interest
Digital libraries (electronic texts)

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica: the online collections of the National Library of Spain.
Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano: portal to Spanish language library collections
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes: portal devoted to Spanish-language literature and cultures.
Proyecto Cervantes / Cervantes Project: links to the Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO), 1994-1998; the Cervantes Digital Library (CDL) for online searchable and browsable editions of works and translations; and the Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI).
LEMIR: texts of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
Biblioteca Digital Ciudad Seva: vast selection of critical texts, short stories, and poems in Spanish. Covers both theory and primary texts.
Euro Docs: list of websites offering primary documents about Spanish history.

Portals - for lists of other websites

Latin American Network Information Center: a directory of good websites on the Caribbean, Mexico, Central and South America.

Latin Americanist Research Resources Project: provides access to free scholarly information.

Hispana: repositorio de colecciones digitales de archivos, bibliotecas y museos españoles: a portal to digital archives and repositories from Libraries, museum and universities in Spain, it allows users to search across repositories. Some full-text available.



Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News