Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

STEM Job Search Workshop

Comprehensive Job Search Systems
Job and Career Accelerator Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Easy-to-use online application combining everything you need for a successful job search.
  • Explore careers and occupations
  • Find open positions
  • Upload/create resumes and cover letters
  • Track job search progress
     
OU Career Link
  • Hundreds of Job Postings
  • Resume Builder
  • Cover Letter Builder
  • Interview and On-Campus Recruiting Scheduling
Researching Potential Employers
Business Insights: Essentials Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Access to company and industry profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and periodicals. Thanks to MeL

Mergent Online Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Financial data on US and international publicly traded firms; includes annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to 7 users at a time. Log off after using! 

Mergent Intellect - especially useful for identifying smaller, local companies (public or private) by industry, size or location.

Tip: Identify the appropriate NAICS code for your potential employers. This will help you to search effectively for industry-specific trends and events.
Finding Current Industry Trends
S&P NetAdvantage Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Includes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund/ETF Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook

MarketLine Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

ABI/Inform Complete Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks

Business Source Elite Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
Broad scope - includes academic journals, trade publications, magazines, books, market research reports, and product reviews. How to export to RefWorks

Networking
  • Follow potential employers on LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter.
     
  • Check out the OU Student Organizations Directory for student chapters of professional associations and other groups.
     
  • Use the Executives search option in S&P NetAdvantage to find OU alumni in executive positions.
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn Lombardo

Shawn Lombardo
Associate Professor
lombardo@oakland.edu
248.370.2493

GOOGLE TALK shawnvlombardo
OFFICE HOURS (Winter 2014) Mon 3-4pm; Fri 2-3pm; or by appointment.

Picture: Barbara Shipman

Barbara Shipman
Reference and Instructional Services Librarian
bmoore@oakland.edu
248.370.2483

Fall 2013 office hours:  Monday & Wednesday 2-4pm.

or request a reseach consultation below:



Tips for Organizing Your Job Search
  • Use Google Drive or RefWorks to organize your company research by creating separate folders for each company.
     
  • Download company/industry reports in PDF or Excel format from Mergent, Business Insights, etc.; upload reports to Google Drive or attach the report to one of your articles in RefWorks to keep all your information in one spot.
     
  • Upload or create multiple resumes and cover letters on Job and Career Accelerator to send customized applications to potential employers. Also use Job and Career Accelerator to track the steps in the application and interview process.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Need More Information?
Kresge Library has some books (in print and online) that can help you explore career options or prepare for your interview:

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News