Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Women & Gender Studies

Background Information and Books

 

--print only--2d floor South, Reference Collection

Women's Issues Ref. HQ1115.W6425 1997

The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism Ref. HQ1115.W644 2006

Women's Studies Encyclopedia Ref. 1115.W645 1999

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide (Asia:  Ref. HQ1726.G74 2003; Central & South America:  Ref. HQ1467.G74 2003; Europe:  Ref. HQ1588.G74 2003; North America & Caribbean:  Ref. HQ1400.G74 2003; Sub-Saharan Africa;  Ref. HQ1788.G74 2003; Middle East & North Africa:  Ref. HQ1726.5.G74 2003)

--available ONLINE
New as of 2011:    Women and Politics Around the World:  A Comparative History and Survey (online only)--volume one has topical essays, volume two contains essays for specific countries.

New as of 2011:  Feminism and Women's Rights Worldwide:  v. 1, Heritage, Roles, and Issues; v. 2, Mental and Physical Health; v. 3, Feminism as Human Rights. Edited by Michele A. Paludi (online only)--"documents the history and current state of feminism and women's rights."

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society  (online only)

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender (online and print: Ref. HQ 1115 .E43 2001)

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories (online and print: Ref. HQ1190.E63 2000)

Feminist Methods in Social Research  (online and print:  HQ 1180 .R448 1992 , 3d floor)

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (online and print: Ref. H 40 .A2 I5 2008)

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology (online and print: Ref. HM 425 .B53 2007)

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory (online only) Includes articles on "Feminist Communication Theories," "Feminist Standpoint Theory," etc.  

Encyclopedia of Counseling (online only)
 

--Other Online Books
In addition to having many print books the Library also includes many e-books. Here are almost 1,500 titles dealing with women or feminism or gender.  Click on "edit" to add another term to narrow your search.

Finding Articles

             and many more!!

If there is not a full text icon for an article, be sure to use the
get it linklinks!

Academic OneFile --covers all disciplines. This is a good place to begin.  Many of the women and gender studies journals  are indexed here.

Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)
--Perhaps the single best index to locate scholarly articles (plus books and converence proceedings) on women's studies and women from a sociological point of view. "Females," "Feminism," "Males," "Sex Role Identity," "Sex Roles," and "Women's Roles" are a few of the subject headings that work well in this database.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
--excellent source to find articles on portrayal of women in televsion, the movies, etc.  Also indexes articles on feminism, feminist criticism, women.

Film & Televsion Literature Index--another excellent source to find articles on women in televsion and film.  Indexes both popular and peer reviewed articles.

Social Sciences Abstracts (SocSciAbs) --Indexes far fewer journals than Sociological Abstracts , but it does index many of the very important ones--and includes journals in sociology, psychology, political science, and social work.

Humanities Abstracts (HumAbs) --Similar to the above title, but it indexes articles in philosophy, literature, as well as some specifically women's studies titles.

PsycINFO --Another good index if you need scholarly articles (and books)on women from a psychological point of view. "Human Females," "Human Males," "Gender Identity," and "Human Sex Differences" are subject terms used in this database.

Social Services Abstracts (SocSerAbs) --indexes many social work journals.

Opposing Viewpoints --indexes articles and essays (available full-text in this database) on issues such as women's rights, working women, domestic violence, feminism, affirmative action, body image, etc.

Social Sciences Citation Index (a part of Web of Science)--Index to use to find out what other articles have cited an important article you know about--and to find out what articles and other resources that are cited in a particular author.

New York Times Historical
--1851-2005. Good place to find articles on the women's movements through the years.

-Journal Collections
JSTOR
--Online collection of many scholarly journals from volume 1 until 2 to 5 years ago. Full text of articles is searchable! Problem: JSTOR does not use subject headings. If you get too many results searching your terms in "full-text," try restricting them to "article title."  Be sure to use the "advanced search" feature.
JSTOR includes approximately 13 journals dealing specifically with "Feminist and Women's Studies" plus dozens on the broad disciplines of "Sociology" and "Psychology." Some of the titles included are Feminist Review, Feminist Studies, Gender and Society, NWSA Journal, and Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society .

Project Muse —collection of over 300 journals primarily from over 60 scholarly publishers.  Beginning date of holdings varies—some as early as 1995.  Includes 20 journals dealing specifically with Women's Studies. Some of the titles include Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies, Journal of Women's History, Legacy, NWSA Journal  and its new title, Feminist Formations) and WSQ: Women's Studies QuarterlyTo begin searching, click on the "Article Search" tab.

--Links to individual journals

E-Journals A to Z--more up-to-date than Library Catalog. List of Gender & Sexuality E-Journals.

Sampling of library's online women and gender studies journals --often you can do a subject search "within" an individual journal.

Some Recent Documentary DVDs



All DVDs and videos are listed in the library catalog--by title, subject, producer, etc.  Below are a few of the recent documentaries that the library has.


Iron Jawed Angels
[suffragists] DVD-2738

Life and Times of Rosie the Riveter DVD-2651

Mickey Mouse Monopoly [political and social aspects of Disney films] DVD-2060

Passing the Torch [Michigan women--speakers include Maryann Mahaffey, Jeniifer Granholm, Erma Henderson, Helen Milliken] DVD-2127

Tough Guise: Violence, Media, and the Crisis in Masculinity DVD-2478

Annotated List of Other Library DVDs relevant to Women & Gender Studies

All are available for viewing in the Library; faculty and staff may check them out and take them from the library [and, beginning January 2011, students will also be able to take them from the building]. Check the Library Catalog for availability. Ask for videos at the Circulation Desk.

Library Contact
Picture: Anne Switzer

Anne Switzer
Social Sciences, Government Documents, & Outreach Librarian
switzer2@oakland.edu
248.370.2475


Essentials

Women and Gender Studies Program, Oakland University

OU Library Catalog
    

E-Journals A to Z--more up-to-date than Library Catalog. List of Gender & Sexuality E-Journals.

WorldCat (online catalog of libraries worldwide)

MelCat --online catalog of many Michigan libraries; fastest way to borrow BOOKS OU does not own

ILLiad—web based system for borrowing books, journal articles, etc.

RefWorks—“an online research management, writing and collaboration tool”

New Books List--Note that you can now review monthly lists of new books by subject area--displaying book covers and with links to the library catalog and to Google Books. Note that one "subject area" is Women & Gender Studies.

APA Citation Guide--link to the Purdue Online Writing Lab's guide to APA Style.

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary —great for pronunciation as well as definitions.


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News