OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Who has cited my work?

Science Discipline
TWO KEY SOURCES: SCOPUS AND WEB OF SCIENCE

Scopus is a key source for cited reference searching within the sciences. It covers over 18,000 peer reviewed journals and also includes coverage for conference proceedings and patents. Search for your articles, then click on "Cited by" in the far right column. You can also place a check mark next to the desired items, then click "View Citation Overview" to see analysis.


Web of Science, also known as the Web of Knowledge, is one of the primary source for cited reference searching. Do a "Cited Reference Search" to find out who has cited your work. Type in your name with this format: Smith J*. The Web of Science is particularly useful at identifying journal articles that have cited your work; however, it is not very complete at finding books or conference proceedings that have cited your work.

   Once in Web of Science:
  • click "Cited Reference Search"
  • enter the author's name: Dayton J*
  • select the desired articles, then click "Finish Search"
  • click "Create Citation Report" to see charts of results.
  • the h-index is available on the Citation Report.
   Teaching tools:

Other citation resources:

ACM Digital Library provides cited reference and download statistics for its publications, listed under "Bibliometrics" for any ACM paper. In addition, click on an author's name to view the combined bibliometrics for that author's complete ACM publication history.

CiteSeerX, from Penn State University, focuses on computer and information science material. Do an author search then click on the "Cited by" link to see results. CiteseerX also distinguishes self-cites. Need more info? Check out this informative website describing the search features of CiteSeerX.

Engineering Village - Compendex and Science Direct both display Scopus cited reference results. Look for works by the author and click the Scopus link to find more information on who has cited your works.

IEEE Xplore displays "citing documents." Do an author search, click on the title to display the full abstract, scroll down beyond "Index Terms" to "Additional details." If the item has been cited within IEEE Xplore, a tab with the heading "Citing Documents" will appear. Click that to see who has cited this work.
Social Science Discipline
Web of Science, also known as the Web of Knowledge, is the primary source for cited reference searching. Do a "Cited Reference Search" to find out who has cited your work. Type in your name with this format: Smith J*. The Web of Science is particularly useful at identifying journal articles that have cited your work; however, it is not very complete at finding books or conference proceedings that have cited your work.

   Once in Web of Science:
  • click "Cited Reference Search"
  • enter the author's name: Dayton J*
  • select the desired articles, then click "Finish Search"
  • click "Create Citation Report" to see charts of results.
  • the h-index is available on the Citation Report.
   Teaching tools:
You can also find cited references in the ProQuest platform:

Once you're in one of the ProQuest databases,
  • Go to Advanced Search, enter the person's last name and change the dropdown box to the right to "References"
  • This works easily if you have an uncommon name, but if your last name is Smith, you will need to AND that search with a "References" search on your first name or a word that appears in the title of one of your articles.
  • Once you get results, click on the title of the work, then click "References" on the Citation/Abstracts page in the right hand column. Here you can verify that the main article is citing your work.

JSTOR links to cited reference works within JSTOR and also those that appear in Google Scholar.

Once you're in JSTOR, perform an author search
  • Click on the title to view the first page of the PDF.
  • To the right are boxes labeled "JSTOR" and "Google Scholar".
  • Within the JSTOR box, click "Items Citing this Item" to find who has cited the work.
  • Within the Google Scholar box, click "Items citing this item" to be taken to Google Scholar which will display a list of cited references.
Humanities Discipline
Web of Science, also known as the Web of Knowledge, is the primary source for cited reference searching. Do a "Cited Reference Search" to find out who has cited your work. Type in your name with this format: Smith J*. The Web of Science is particularly useful at identifying journal articles that have cited your work; however, it is not very complete at finding books or conference proceedings that have cited your work.

   Once in Web of Science:
  • click "Cited Reference Search"
  • enter the author's name: Dayton J*
  • select the desired articles, then click "Finish Search"
  • click "Create Citation Report" to see charts of results.
  • the h-index is available on the Citation Report.
   Teaching tools:
Other cited reference resources:

MLA via ProQuest
  • Go to Advanced Search, enter the person's last name and change the dropdown box to the right to "References"
  • This works easily if you have an uncommon name, but if your last name is Smith, you will need to AND that search with a "References" search on your first name or a word that appears in the title of one of your articles.
  • Once you get results, click on the title of the work, then click "References" on the Citation/Abstracts page in the right hand column. Here you can verify that the main article is citing your work.

JSTOR
links to cited reference works within JSTOR and also those that appear in Google Scholar.

Once you're in JSTOR, perform an author search
  • Click on the title to view the first page of the PDF.
  • To the right are boxes labeled "JSTOR" and "Google Scholar".
  • Within the JSTOR box, click "Items Citing this Item" to find who has cited the work.
  • Within the Google Scholar box, click "Items citing this item" to be taken to Google Scholar which will display a list of cited references.
Need Help?
Don't hesitate to contact your Library Liaison for assistance.
Google Scholar

Google Scholar Article Search
 
Google Scholar
It's a good idea to check for cited references in Google Scholar. Once you find you works by author, you'll see the "Cited by" when Google Scholar has identified cited references. Click on that link to see who has cited your work.

There is a lot of duplication between results found in Web of Science and Google Scholar although they also search different sources. Be sure to search both tools and others listed under your discipline to the left to identify those who have cited your works.

Scopus is another tool that identifies cited references. We currently have a trial of Scopus valid though February 21, 2013.
Managing your citations with Google Scholar
Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles.
 
Log into your OU email or gmail account, go to Google Scholar   then click on “My citations” in the top right corner. After you fill the sign up form, Google Scholar lets you add up your articles to your profile. With Google Scholar Citations you can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can leave your profile private or make it public.
Citation Tracking Tools
Once you've set up a Google Scholar Citation or profile, you may be interested in more citation tracking tools. Consult Kresge Library's Researcher Tools for more information.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports provides the Journal Impact Factor as well as citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field and the highest impact journals in a field. The OU community has access to the Science edition and the Social Sciences edition of JCR.
Ask A Librarian - IM


Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library

Office hours: for LIB 250 students, Monday 3-5pm.
Otherwise:

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News