OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

African History Pathfinder

Encyclopedias

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. (Ref. DT 14 .A37435 1999)

Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa. (Ref. DT 2 .E53 1997; also available electronically—follow electronic link from Library Catalog record)

Encyclopedia of African Peoples. (Ref. DT 15 .E53 2000)

Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations. (Ref. DT 14 .E43 2002)

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara. (Ref. DT 351 .E53 1997)

African Boundaries: A Legal and Diplomatic Encyclopedia. (Ref. DT 31 .B776)

Encyclopedia of African History. (Ref DT 20 .E53 2005, 3 vols.) Scholarly articles. This is a good place to explore a research topic.

New Encyclopedia of Africa. (Ref. DT 2 .N48 2008)


Meta Sites

WWW-VL: History: South Africa

WWW VL: Central Catalogue Scroll down to regions and countries.

Gateways

Africa South of the Sahara - Arranged by country and topic.

VOS Scroll down a bit and you will find African sites and then by country.


Country Overviews

Country Studies - Provides book length overviews of countries.

Country Pages - From the African Studies Center.


Resources

African History Resources - This is a collection of various links--no central theme.

African Studies: Africa: History

Association for the Study of the Worldwide African Diaspora - This is a vast collection of links.

African Online Digital Library Series of podcasts on various topics,

Sources and Documents

Internet African History Sourcebook - This is the most comprehensive African history collection of sources.

Primary Sources

Sacred Texts of Africa

Historical Documents of the African National Congress Click on documents

Africa Central Research - This is a searchable database that allows you to search for primary source materials. Not working Recheck

Africa Focus Sights and Sounds of a Continent  "This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries. It is hoped that the search features of the collection will be a convenient aid to scholarship, study, and teaching of these disciplines."

World History Archives - Arranged by area, i.e., East Africa takes you to a wide variety of documents including journal citations, speeches, etc.

Trans Atlantic Slave Trade Data Base
  Information on 35,0000 slave voyages

Images of Colonial Africa

Images of Colonialism

"Constituting a visual record of early European contacts with Asia and Africa, Widener Library’s Images of Colonialism Collection is a primary visual resource for historical and socio-cultural studies. Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection of more than 700 images offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated. The collection can also be used to draw contrasts between colonial attitudes among the French, British, German, and Dutch colonizers and the realities in the colonies."


 


Discussion Forums

H-SAfrica

H-Afrteach - Be sure to look at the related sites on the left as there are more discussion sites on Africa.

Electronic Journals
African Studies Journals - Gives table of contents for many journals.
Bibliographies

Electronic Journal of Africana Bibliography

AfricaBib - This site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

Maps

Historical Maps of Africa - This is a very rich collection of various types of sources--maps, films, atlases, etc. Not arranged by type but by alphabet.

16th-20th Century Maps of Africa

Timelines

Chronologies - There are chronologies on many topics here.


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News