OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

American Labor History Pathfinder

Dictionaries

The Lexicon of Labor. (Ref. HD 8066 .M87 1998)


Biography
Biographical Dictionary of American Labor. (HD 8073 .A1 B56 1984)
Bibliographies

Something in Common: An IWW Bibliography. (HD 8055 .I4 A1 M54 1986)

American Labor History and Comparative Labor Movements. (HD 8066 .A1 M15)

American Working Class History: A Representative Bibliography. (HD 8066 .A1 N54 1983)

Statistics

Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics. (Ref. HD 8051 .A63 2007)

Statistical Handbook of Working America. (Ref. HD 8051 .S737)

Sundry

Profiles of American Labor Unions. (HD 6504 .P64 1998)

Portals
Labor History Links This site is sponsored by the AFL and it is too my mind the most comprehensive collection of labor history sites on the web. Its scope includes bibliographies,digital collections,biography,culture,topics and chronology. Some of the links dont work.
Resources


Labor History
Alphabetically arranged covering many subjects.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Homepage

Department of Labor Homepage

H-Labor - This is a discussion group.

H-Labor-Arts
Same as above but focus is on cultural and artistic artifacts of the working people.


Documents and Photographs

National Child Labor Committee Collection
Photo collection from the Library of Congress.

Triangle Factory Fire - Sources, documents, bibliography and much more.

Child Labor in America

On the Lower East Side: Observations of Life in Lower Manhattan at the Turn of the Century

Triangle Fire - Another collection of photos.

The Bisbee Deportation of 1917

Memories of the Industrial Workers of the World by Elizabeth Gurley Flynn

Labor Arts - A virtual museum. Includes exhibits, collections, forums, resources.

Every Picture Tells a Story: Documentary Photography and the Great Depression

American Memory - Click on Technology, Industry.

Trade Union Publications: The Official Journals, Convention Proceedings and Constitutions of International Unions and Federations 1850-1941

US Steel Gary Works Photograph Collection, 1906-1971
Contains 2200 photos of the mill and the city of Gary.

Haymarket Affair
"This collection showcases more than 3,800 images of original manuscripts, broadsides, photographs, prints and artifacts relating to the Haymarket Affair. The violent confrontation between Chicago police and labor protesters in 1886 proved to be a pivotal setback in the struggle for American workers' rights. These materials pertain to: the May 4, 1886 meeting and bombing; to the trial, conviction and subsequent appeals of those accused of inciting the bombing; and to the execution of four of the convicted and the later pardon of the remaining defendants. Of special interest and significance are the two dozen images of three-dimensional artifacts, including contemporary Chicago Police Department paraphernalia, labor banners, and an unexploded bomb casing given to juror J. H. Brayton by Chicago Police Captain Michael Schaack. The cornerstone is the presentation, as images and searchable text, of the transcript of the 3,200 pages of proceedings from the murder trial of State of Illinois v. August Spies, et al. "

Flint Sit Down Strike

Women Working  1800-1930
"The collection features approximately 650,000 digitized pages and nearly 1,500 images, including:  3,000 pages of manuscripts and personal papers, and 7,000 pages of institutional records; more than 3,100 individually cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and well over 1,400 photographs."

Inside an American Factory
"The Westinghouse Works Collection contains 21 actuality films showing various views of Westinghouse companies.  Most prominently featured are the Westinghouse Air Brake Company, the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, and the Westinghouse Machine Company.  The films were intended to showcase the company's operations.  Exterior and interior shots of the factories are shown along with scenes of male and female workers performing their duties at the plants."

Law and Legislation

Title 29 - Labor - From the US Code.

Federal Labor Laws


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News