OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

American Religious Experience

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religion.  Ref. BL 2525 .M440 2009

Encyclopedia of American Religious History.  Ref. BL 2525 .Q44 2001

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience.  Ref. BL 2525 .E53 1988

Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics.  Ref. BL 2525 .E52 1999

Contemporary American Religion.  Ref. BL 2525 .C65 2000

Encyclopedia of Mormonism.  Ref BX 8605 .E62 1992

Encyclopedia of Native American Religion.   Ref. E 98 .R3 H73 1992

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism.  Ref. E 98 .M4 L98 1998

 Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements. Ref. BL 98 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America.  Ref. BL 458 .E52 2006

Biographical Dictionary of American Cult and Sect Leaders.  Ref. BL 2525 .M448 1986

 The Native American Almanac: A Portrait of Native America Today. Ref.  E 77 .H59 1993

History of Religion in the United States Wiki

Cults in America: A Reference Handbook

Religion in Nineteenth Century America  In Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Religion In Reader's Companion to American History

Communitarianism In Encyclopedia of American Studies

Religion and Religious Movements In Encyclopedia of American Studies

African American Religions
Ditto

Religion and Popular Culture Ditto

Protestantism
In Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Catholicism Ditto

Judaism Ditto

The New  Theology from Edwards to Bushnell  In Encyclopedia of American and Intellectual History

Puritanism as a Cultural and Intellectual Force  Ditto

Modernism versus Fundamentalism in the Heartland
  In Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures

Revivalism In Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Social Gospel Ditto

Evangelical Protestants In Encyclopedia of American Culture and Intellectual History

Contemporary Religious Movements In Encyclopedia of American Studies

Religious and Utopian Movements: Introduction  In Encyclopedia of American Social Movements

Religious Movements: Overview  Ditto

Religious Movements, 1730s–1830s  Ditto

Religious Movements, 1830s–1870 Ditto

Religious Movements, 1870s–Present  Ditto
Directories and Handbooks
Directory of Religious Organizations.  Ref. BL 2530 .U6 M44 1993

Handbook of Denominations in the United States.  Ref. BL 2525 .M425 1995
Atlases
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America. Ref. BL 2525 .N49 2001

Atlas of Religious Change in America. Ref. BL 2525 .E4 H3 1994

Historical Atlas of Religion in America.  Ref. BL 2525 .E4 G3 1976

Resources
H-AmRel  Discussion site.

The American Religious Experience
This site is no longer being maintained but still useful.

Religion and the Founding of the American Republic  This is an exhibit from the Library of Congress.

Center for the Study of Religion and American Culture


Pluralism Project  From Harvard.   "In 1991, the Pluralism Project at Harvard University began a pioneering study of America's changing religious landscape. Through an expanding network of affiliates, we document the contours of our multi-religious society, explore new forms of interfaith engagement, study the impact of religious diversity in civic life, and contextualize these findings within a global framework."

Sociology of Religion Pathfinder

Religious Movements
Definitions

New Religious Movement Wiki

New Religious Movements
In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Charisma Wiki

Charisma In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Charismatic Authority Wiki

Charisma, Routinization of
  In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Cult Wiki

Religious Cults   In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Popular Religiosity   In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Denomination
In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Cults: Psychological aspects of  In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

Resources

List of New Religious Movements Wiki

CESNUR, Center for Studies on New Religions Wiki

CESNUR
web site

Open Directory  Good for organizations and essays.

New Religious Movements
Hartford Institute for Religion Research

New Religious Movements  Covers bibliographies and online texts, Internet directories and meta sites and organizations.

World Religions and Spirituality Project


New Religious Movement  Good for A-Z listing, ritual and people

Denomination Sect Founders
  Who's Who in Christianity

Important Scholars

Ferdinand Toennies  Wiki

J. Gordon Melton
Wiki

Rodney Stark Wiki

Perry Miller  In Encyclopedia of American Studies

Reinhold Niebuhr Wiki

Martin Marty Wiki

Will Herberg
Wiki

Players

Elizabeth Clare Prophet
Wiki

David Berg

Joseph Smith Wiki

Joseph Smith In Reader's Companion to American History

Brigham Young
Wiki

Brigham Young  In Reader's Companion to American History

Charles Taze Russell Wiki

Robert Owen Wiki

Mary Baker Eddy Wiki

Ann Lee Wiki

Mordecai Kaplan Wiki

Mordecai Kaplan Jewish Virtual Libary

Sherwin Wine
Wiki

Solomon Schecter  In New Encyclopedia of Judaism

Malcolm X  In Encyclopedia of American Studies

John Humphrey Noyes
Wiki

Jonthan Edwards Wiki

Cotton Mather  Wiki

Dwight L Moody
Wiki

Billy Graham
Wiki

Billy Sunday
Wiki

L. Ron Hubbard Wiki

Some New Religions, variations of, and Kindred Movements

The Family International

Jehovah's  Witnesses Blackwell

Jehovah's Witnesses  Wiki

Mormonism
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Mormonism  Encyclopedia of American Studies

Latter Day Saints, Church of Jesus Christ of
, Columbia Encyclopedia

Shakers  Encyclopedia of American Studies

Shakers
Wiki

Utopian Communities Reader's Companion to American History

Utopia Blackwells

Seventh Day Adventists Wiki

Millerissm Wiki

Millenialism and  Adventism   Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Millenialism   Encyclopedia of American Studies

Millenariarianism Blackwell

Harmony Society Wiki

New Harmony  Indiana Wiki

Communitarianism Movements and Groups Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Christian Science Wiki

Christian Science Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Spiritualism
Wiki

New Age Wiki

New Age
Blackwells

New Age Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology

Brook Farm
Wiki

Reform Judaism  Wiki

The Origins of Reform Judaism
Jewish Virtual Library

Humanistic Judaism  The New Encyclopedia of Judaism

Reform Judaism Ditto

Conservative Judaism Ditto

Reconstructionism
  Ditto

Amish Wiki

Mennonites Wiki

Fundamentalism
Encycloppedia of American Studies

Black Muslims Ditto

"the Burned Over District" Wiki

Evangelism  Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

"Holiness Movement"  Wiki

Pentecostal Theology
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology

Second Great Awakening: Wiki

Great Awakening  Wiki

Great Awakening
Reader's Companion to American History

Puritanism Ditto

Puritanism
Encyxclopedia of American Studies

Puritan Wiki

Civil Religion Encyclopedia of American Studies

Oneida Community
Wiki

Church of Scientology Wiki

Branch Davidians
Wiki

Native American Religion
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News