OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

American Revolution Pathfinder

Encyclopedias and Overviews

The American Revolution, 1775-1783: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. E 208 .A433 1993) This is the best of the encyclopedias. Two volumes, it's a good place to explore a research topic.

Encyclopedia of the American Revolution. (Ref. E 208 .B68)

The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America. (Ref. E 188 .E63 1990) This is OK for basic information.

The Jeffersonian Cyclopedia: A Comprehensive Collection of the Views of Thomas Jefferson. (Ref. E 332.82 1967)

Encyclopedia of the New American Nation. (Ref E 301 .E53 2006) Covers the years 1754-1829. Three volumes with scholarly articles.

American Revolution  Wiki essay.
 

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution. (Ref. E 209 .M36 1999)

Note: The two titles below are scholarly and authoritative; good places to explore a research paper.

George Washington: A Biographical Companion. (Ref. E 312 .G88 2002)

James Madison and the American Nation, 1751-1836: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. E 342 .J36 1994)

 

Bibliographies

Revolutionary America, 1763-1789: A Bibliography. (Ref. E 208 .A1 G43)

Note: There are other bibliographies in the area so be sure to browse.

Atlases

A Battlefield Atlas of the American Revolution. (E 230 .S96 1986--3rd floor)

Atlas of the American Revolution. (Ref. G 1201 .S3 N4 1974)

Internet Sites

Meta Sites

WWW-VL Revolutionary Era, 1765-1783 - This is a comprehensive listing of sites.

Resources

The American Revolution: National Discussion of Our Revolutionary Origins - This site will lead you to bibliographies, essays and other resources.

Virtual Marching Tour of the American Revolution - This site focuses on battles.

13 Originals: Founding the American Colonies - Look at the bottom and you will see links for each colony. If you click on them, you will get more state and colony information.

Benjamin Franklin Links on the WWW

Web Resources for Colonial American History - Scroll down a bit.

"The Decisive Day is Come": The Battle of Bunker Hill

American Revolution 
Covers battles, documents, commanders, events and people.

American Revolution
Good for battles but also events.

American Revolution
This site contains hundreds of links to documents and other events.

American Revolution.org 
Click on scholar's showcase and you will get links to classic books and essays.
 


Electronic Texts

Essays - These essays cover the breadth of American history but there are a number on the Revolution.

Documents - These cover 1450-2001. Many on the Revolutionary period.

Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive - Includes texts and bibliographies.

Primary Sources Pertaining to Early American History  Scroll down about 2/3 and you will see an extensive listing of documents including journals of the Continental Congress, papers of Franklin, Sam Adams, John Adams, Washington and Jefferson.

American Revolution :First Phase  From American Military History. The Winning of Independence 1777-1783

A Guide to the American Revolution
  From the Library of Congress this site will link you to books, letters and other documents.

A  Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation   This site is good for doing research on the Continental Congress; covers journals, letters and materials related to debates in state conventions.

Discussion Sites

 

Threads - There are about 15 discussion sites on topics like women or Scottish loyalists in the Revolution.

H-Amstdy - Focus is on American studies.

Chronologies

Timeline of the Revolution

The American Revolution - This site has three pages to it.

Chronicle of the Revolution - This site has a little more narrative than the others.


Atlases

American Revolution and Its Era: Maps and Charts

Rare Map Collection: Revolutionary America







Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News