OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Anthropology Pathfinder

Encyclopedias


The Encyclopedia of World Cultures
(Ref. GN 550 .E53 1991), a 10-volume work including index, is the best place to explore a different culture. Each volume represents a continent or an area of the world. Each "chapter" discusses the "identification" of a culture, its demographics, linguistic affiliation, history and cultural relations, economy, and kinship, marriage and family, religion, arts and so on. Bibliographies included. A one-volume "companion" is The Encyclopedia of the Peoples of the World (Ref. GN 495.4 .E53 1993). Entries are more "descriptive."

Ethnic Groups Worldwide (Ref. GN 325 .L46 1998). OK for quick information on the ethnic composition and ethnic relations of a country. Coverage for the world is comprehensive.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Ref. GN 333 .W67 1998) is a four-volume work similar to the Encyclopedia of World Cultures but arranged by continent and then country. A typical profile lists family life, education, clothing, food and so on.

Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-cultural Encyclopedia (Ref. GN 480 .B76 1994) explores "topics relevant to human relationships from a cross-cultural perspective" such as altruism, attachment, marriage, family and trial marriage. Essays include bibliographies. Part of the same series and similar in arrangement is Ethnic Relations: A Cross-cultural Encyclopedia (Ref. GN 496 .L48 1994). This book provides cross-cultural information on general topics such as tourism, genocide and assault. It also provides "descriptive profiles" of 38 ethnic conflicts around the world.

The Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory (Ref. GN 281 .E53 2000) contains 800 alphabetically arranged entries, ranging from "descriptive" to truly comprehensive and encyclopedic essays that include bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (2010 ed. online; 1996 in print, Ref. GN 307 .E525 1996) Includes 275 main entries on "important areas of anthropological work" with bibliographies and cross-references. There are also glossary and biographical entries.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (Ref. GN 307 .E52 1996) is a four-volume set with 340 articles covering nine areas of interest within cultural anthropology. The articles are long, comprehensive and written by scholars. Subject index in volume four.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology. (Ref. GN 11 .E63 2006) 5 volumes and international in scope, this is a good place to explore a reserach paper. It also includes topics dealing with sociology, theology, geology, biology and philosophy.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. (Also in print, Ref. GT 2850 .E53 2003) 3 vols. Scholarly articles.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers (Ref.GN 388 .C35 1999;( also available online) is arranged by continent and then by group. Each entry has common format:  introduction, history, ecological setting, economy, settlement patterns, religion, and a reading list.
 
Countries and their Cultures (Ref. GN 307 .C68 2001; also available online) is four volumes and arranged alphabetically by country. Covers social customs and cultures.

Encyclopedia of Prehistory. (Ref. GN 710 .E53 2001, eight vols.) Arranged by continent.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology. (Ref. CC 100 .E54 2001) Divided into two parts: History and Discoveries and The Great Archaeologists.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology.  (Also in print, Ref. CC 70 .E53 2008) This three volume work is a great place to explore your topic.

Encyclopedia of Mummies. (Ref. GN 293 .B75 1998)

Larousse Encyclopedia of Archaeology. (Ref. CC 165 .C4313 1972)

The Oxford Companion To Archaeology (Ref CC 70 O96 1996) This book presents scholarly essays on such topics as How archaeology began and developed;how archaeology works;how archaeologists explain the past; and archaeology and the human past.

Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology (Ref CC H5 E53 2002) This book provides short entries on such topics as the garbage project,battle of the Little Big Horn and hundreds more. References provided.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers

CultureGrams


Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

Key Concepts in Ethnography

Cambridge World History of Food


Reference books
Literati Access reference books published by Credo
Dictionaries
You will find a whole slew of anthropology and archaeology dictionaries at Online Dictionaries, Glossaries, and Encyclopedias (scroll down a bit for Archaeology and Anthropology); also look at AnthroBase and Anthropology
Guides
Sources of Information in the Social Sciences (Ref. H 61 .A1 S666 1986) includes a section on anthropology, pages 332-402.  However, this guide lists the "standard" monographs for a particular field and not just reference type books.
Countries and Cultures
Internet Sites

Meta Sites

Voice of the Shuttle
This site picks up general resources, departments, listservs and writings.

Yahoo's Anthropology
  This is a fine place to begin. Pay particular attention to WEB directories since it will provide links to important sites.

Social Science Information Gateway: Anthropology
In addition to several sub-topics you will find journals, books, organizations mailing lists, etc.

WWW Virtual Library Peoples

Aborignal Studies WWW Virtual Library

Resources

Anthropology.net "Anthropology.net’s mission is to create a cohesive online community of individuals interested in anthropology. This website intends to promote and facilitate discussion, review research, extend stewardship of resources, and disseminate knowledge. To serve the public interest, we seek the widest possible engagement with all segments of society, including professionals, students, and anyone who is interested in advancing knowledge and enhancing awareness of anthropology."

Anthropology Resources on the Internet

Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History
One can search for objects in the collection by geographic area,object name and culture.

The eSkeletons Project
"The eSkeletons Project website is devoted to the study of human and primate comparative anatomy. It offers a unique set of digitized versions of skeletons in 2-D and 3-D in full color, animations, and much supplemental information. The user can navigate through the various regions of the skeleton and view all orientations of each element along with muscle and joint information. eSkeletons enables you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates ranging from the gorilla to the tiny mouse lemur. All of the large apes are represented as well as other species from different parts of the world. Many of these primates are rare or endangered species."

Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History
"The Anthropological Papers, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians. Several illustrious anthropologists published their work in the Anthropological Papers, as well as many past and present curators of the AMNH Division of Anthropology. Prior to 1930, large special reports were published in the Memoirs."

VisualAnthropology.net
A good place to read about new films for classroom use.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet  Covers:

Anthropologists

Archaeology Resources

Biological/Physical Anthropology

Ethnography

General Resources

Listservs and Discussion Groups

Online Journals and Libraries

Museums

 

News and Media

Organizations and Institutes

Visual Anthropology

Anthropology on the Web
This site will be useful for the map section and the interactive tutorial on kinship and social organization. For another link to tutorials, consider Palomar College's Anthropology Tutorials which offers tutorials in 22 areas.

Center for World Indigenous Studies
This site  has links to indigenous studies (geographically arranged). Also look at the general resources.

Top 20 Anthropology
Off to the left you will see the 20 sites.  But there is more here:  resources, journals, organizations and links to people and cultural and physical anthropology.

Anthropology Tutorials covers biological and cultural topics. A page would cover these topics:

1.  

Early Theories of Evolution

11. Primate Behavior
2.   Basic Principles of Genetics 12. Record of Time
3.   Biological Basis of Heredity 13. Early Primate Evolution
4.   Human Chromosomal Abnormalities 14. Early Hominin Evolution
5.   Synthetic Theory of Evolution 15. Early Human Evolution
6.   Human Blood 16. Evolution of Modern Humans
7.   Modern Human Variation  
8.   Human Biological Adaptability   a. Practice Quizzes
9.   Classification of Living Things   b. Glossary of Terms
10.   Primates    
 
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

Anthropology Department

Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News