OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Biology Pathfinder

Print Sources

GUIDE

Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide. Ref. QH 303.6 .D38 2002
A good place to begin your research. Organized by broad categories, this book provides a guide to the literature including abstracts and indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks as well as electronic resources.   

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. Ref. QH 506 .E53 1994
Explains the "methods, concepts and findings of molecular biology" for the amateur and the professional. Includes diagrams and cross-references.

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. Ref. QH 506 .C74 1999

Encyclopedia of Genetics.   Ref. QH 427 .E53 2002   (4 vols.)
Contains more than 1650 essays on people and topics related to genetics.

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics.

Encyclopedia of Geobiology

Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ref. QH 332 .E52 2004 (5 vols.)
Articles are comprehensive and include cross-references and bibliographies. An "Alphabetical List of Article Titles" is in volume 1, p. xvii.

Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Evolution.  QE 711.2 .G79 (3rd floor)
Not really an encyclopedia, more of a monograph with chapters by leading authorities on topics such as "The Origin of Mammals," "The Jurassic," "The Origin of Life."

Encyclopedia of Evolution.   Ref. QH 360.2 .O83 2002
Includes 365 articles for a varied audience that include overviews, technical and topical reports, biographies and composite articles that group two or more related topics.

Encyclopedia of Evolution

Encyclopedia of Biostatistics.   Ref. RA 409 .E53 1999  (6 vols.)
Contains 1208 articles on statistical methods in biology and medicine.

Encyclopedia of Microbiology. Covers 200 entries.

Encyclopedia of Microbiology

Encyclopedia of Human Biology. Ref. QP 11 .E53 1997

TAXONOMY

Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms. Ref. QH 83 .S89
Consists of 8200 "synoptic articles" which provide an overview of the characteristics, biology, ecology, and distribution of the taxon.

Explaining Life Classification
 

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology.  Also Ref. QH 575 .L24 2007  

Dictionary of Biology

Dictionary of Biology.  Ref. QH 302.5 .D54 2008

Dictionary of Biology. Ref. QH 302.5 .I534 1999

Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms. Ref. QH 302.5 .H65 1995

Concise Encyclopedia Biology. Ref. QH 302.5 .A2313 1996

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology

Biology Online

Kimball's Biology Pages

 

HANDBOOKS
 

CRC Handbook of Microbiology.  QR 6 .C2 1977; 3rd floor
Seven volumes divided as follows: Volume 1, bacteria; Volume 2, fungi, algae, protozoa, and viruses; Volume 3, microbial compositions: amino acids, proteins, and nucleic acids; Volume 4, microbial compositions: carbohydrates, lipids, and minerals; Volume 5, microbial products; Volume 6, growth and metabolism; Volume 7, microbial transformation.

Statistical Tables. Ref. QH 323.5 .R63 1995

Handbook of Microbiological Media.   Ref. QR 66.3 .A85 1997

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology.
Internet Resources

Meta sites

Virtual Library's Biosciences

Resources

Internet Public Library's Life Science

Yahoo's Biology

Biology and Microbiology

Online Biology Book
This is a textbook.

Internet Resources in the Biological Sciences
Coverage includes: Anatomy & Physiology | Biographies | Biology | Botany | Dictionaries/Glossaries | Ecology/Environmental Science | Evolution | Forestry | Genetics | Government Agencies | Microbiology | Research Stations/Institutes | Societies/Organizations |

Internet Resources for Cell Biology

All The Virology on the WWW

Stem Cells

The Tree of Life
Contains over 4000 web pages on organisms written by experts.

Kimball's Biology Pages
Contains an alpha list of terms with definitions and essays.

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

Biodiversity Hotspots
Covers 35 threatened ecosystems.

Paleobiology Database "The Paleobiology Database is a public resource for the global scientific community. It has been organized and operated by a multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional, international group of paleobiological researchers. Its purpose is to provide global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for marine and terrestrial animals and plants of any geological age, as well as web-based software for statistical analysis of the data. The project's wider, long-term goal is to encourage collaborative efforts to answer large-scale paleobiological questions by developing a useful database infrastructure and bringing together large data sets.

 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News