OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Buddhist Art Pathfinder

Introduction
Other pathfinders that you might find useful include Chinese Art and Japanese Art. For journal indexes see the Research Guide.
Subject Heading in catalog
Art Buddhist
Encyclopedias and Overviews

Buddhist Art Wiki essay

 Grove Art 
An excellent place to begin your research. Includes biographies, images and search engine.

Summary of Recent Research in Buddhist Art

The Contribution of Buddhism to the World of Art and Architecture



Images

ARTstor Search by subject or use search engine

Buddhist Art and Buddhism

Buddhism and Shintoism in Japan: A-Z Photo Dictionary: Japanese Sculpture and Art

Buddhist Art in Asia (from the Johnson Museum)

Himalayan Art Resources Covers 35,000 images from several museums

Art Images for College Students

Search the Database.
Funded by a National Endowment of the Humanities Preservation and Access Grant, this digital collection includes approximately 30,000 black and white photographs of art and architecture throughout Asia.  This body of material represents invaluable photographic field documentation conducted by John C. and Susan L. Huntington from 1969-1984, and the countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma) Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.   The goal of the digital project was to provide web access to the original images and accompanying text database for educator, scholars, and students interested in the visual arts and culture of Asia.  The photographs are copyrighted to John C. and Susan L. Huntington.

Resources

Buddhist Art and Architecture

Tibetan Buddhist Art Good for essays; some images

Buddhist Art: Directory of Online Resources

Research in Buddhist Art Includes papers, photographs and interviews

Dunhuang Buddhist Art from the Silk Road Includes pictures and text

 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News