OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Chinese History Pathfinder

Guides

Chinese History: A Manual. (Ref. DS 735 .W695 2000)
This book will explain the literature of Chinese history.

Contemporary China: A Research Guide. (Ref. DS 706 .A1 B39)

Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas. (Ref. DS 732 .E53 1998)

Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture and Nationalism. (Ref. DS 755.2 .M63 1998)

Modern China: A Guide to a Century of Change. (Ref. DS 774 .H796 2001)

Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, Its History and Culture. (Ref. DS 705 .P47 1999)

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China. (Ref. DS 705 .C35 1991)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture. (Ref. DS 779.23 .E53 2005)

China Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic. (Ref. DS 777.6 .C458 2005)

Encyclopedia of Modern China

Dictionaries

China: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary. (Ref. DS 733 .C58523 1998)

Dictionary of Contemporary Chinese Military History. (Ref. DS 754.15 .W67 1999)

An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of China. (Ref. DS 730 .O47 1998)

Historical Dictionary of Revolutionary China, 1839-1976. (online and in print, Ref. DS 740.2 H57 1992)

Historical Dictionary of the People’s Republic of China: 1949-1997. (Ref. DS 777.2 .S85 1997)

Dictionary of Chinese History. (Ref. DS 733.D54 1979)

Companion to Chinese History. (Ref. DS 705 .O63 1987)

 

Biography

Biographic Dictionary of Chinese Communism, 1921-1965. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 K55 1971)

Who’s Who in the People’s Republic of China. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 B33 1987)

Chinese Communist Who’s Who. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 C546)

Who’s Who in Communist China. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 W45)

Biographical Dictionary of Republican China. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 B5; 4 vols. plus an index.)

Chinese Biographical Dictionary. (Ref. DS 734 .G46)

Who’s Who in Modern China (from the Beginning of the Chinese Republic to the End of 1953). (Ref. DS 734 .P4)

Who’s Who in China: Biographies of Chinese Leaders. (Ref. DS 778 .A1 W443 1936)

 

Bibliographies
China Facts & Figures Annual. (Ref. DS 779.15 .C48 1981-2005)

The Cambridge Handbook of Contemporary China. (Ref. DS 706 .M24 1991; 2001 edition in China Gift Collection, Room 326/328 KL)
This also has some biography, bibliography, chronology, etc.

The Chinese Year Book. (Ref. DS 701 .C73 1935-1945)

 

Facts and Figures
China Facts & Figures Annual. (Ref. DS 779.15 .C48 1981-2005)

The Cambridge Handbook of Contemporary China. (Ref. DS 706 .M24 1991; 2001 edition in China Gift Collection, Room 326/328 KL)
This also has some biography, bibliography, chronology, etc.

The Chinese Year Book. (Ref. DS 701 .C73 1935-1945)

 

Chronologies
A Chronology of the People’s Republic of China. (Ref. DS 777.55 .C44567)

Modern China: A Chronology from 1842 to the Present. (Ref. DS 755 .M2 1982)

Chronology of the People’s Republic of China, 1970-1979. (Ref. DS 777.55 .C445669 1986)

Chronicle of the Chinese Emperors. (Ref. DS 735 .P27 1998)

The Rulers of China, 221BC-AD 1949. (Ref. DS 733 .M6)

Atlases
Cultural Atlas of China. (Ref. DS 721 .B56 1998)

China : A Provincial Atlas. (Ref. G 2305 .H84 1995)

The Contemporary Atlas of China. (Ref. G 2305 .C986 1988)

An Historical Atlas of China. (Ref. G 2306 .S1 H4 1966)

Peoples Republic of China Administrative Atlas. (Oversize Docs. PrEx 3.10/4: C 44/3)

People's Republic of China--Atlas. Nov. 1971 (Oversize Docs. PrEx 3.10/4: C 44)

Meta Sites and Gateways

WWW VL: History: China

Internet Guide for China Studies - Encompasses all aspects of China including history.

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library - Includes over 10,000 internet resources.

VOS China  AncientChina to present ;chronologically arranged.


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News