OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Civil Rights Movement Pathfinder

REFERENCE BOOKS (See also pathfinder Black Am

The Longman Companion to Slavery, Emancipation and Civil Rights. (Ref. HT 861 .H37 2001)

Civil Rights Chronicle: The African-American Struggle for Freedom. (Ref. JC 599 .U5 C558 2003)

Civil Rights in the United States. (Ref. E184 .A1 C47 2000; also available online

Civil Rights Struggle: Leaders in Profile. (Ref. E 185.96 .D38)

Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Present. (Ref. E 185.61 .E54 1992)

Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement. (Ref. E 185.61 .L84 1997)

Student's Guide to Landmark Congressional Laws on Civil Rights. (Ref. KF 4749 .P626 2002)

Encyclopedia of American Race Riots. (Ref. E 184 .A1 E573 2007)

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements

Internet Sites

Encyclopedias and Overviews

King Encyclopedia

New Georgia Encyclopedia: Civil Rights Movement

Encyclopaedia Britannica's Civil Rights Movement

King and the Civil Rights Movement

The Civil Rights Movement 1955-1965: Introduction
Covers:

  1. The Montgomery Bus Boycott
  2. Sit-Ins
  3. The Freedom Rides
  4. Birmingham
  5. The March on Washington
  6. Mississippi and Freedom Summer
  7. Selma

Biographical

Martin Luther King, Jr. From the BBC, a brief bio.

Martin Luther King, Jr: Historic Speeches and Interviews

Martin Luther King's Style of Leadership

Martin Luther King Jr. & the Civil Rights Movement This site is from the Seattle Times; it has lots of links to other resources.

The Voice of King Good for sermons and speeches.

Biography of Martin Luther King, Jr. This site has a lot of links.

Bayard Rustin, Civil Rights Leader

List of Civil Rights Leaders

Asa Philip Randolph

State and Local

Civil Rights Movement in Florida

Civil Rights Movement in Kentucky (temporarily unavailable)

Civil Rights Movement in Virginia

Atlanta in the Civil Rights Movement

Ordinary People Living Extraordinary Lives: Civil Rights Movement in Mississippi Contains audio. Also searchable by a timeline.

Civil Rights in Mississippi:Digital Archive

The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

Modern Civil Rights Movement in Alabama

Encyclopedia of Louisiana

Mississippi Encyclopedia

NCPedia

Encyclopedia of Vitrginia

Documents

Civil Rights Act of 1964

Modern History Sourcebook: George C. Wallace: The Civil Rights Movement: Fraud Sham and Hoax, July 4, 1964

John F. Kennedy's Radio and Television Report to the American People on Civil Rights

Photographs

Photographs of the Civil Rights Movement in Florida

Heros of the Civil Rights Movement Contains mug shots from Alabama.

Voices of Civil Rights Good for photos and biography

Images of the Civil Rights Movement


 

Timelines

Civil Rights Timeline

Brief Timeline of the American Civil Rights Movement (1954-1965)

Southern Civil Rights Movement

Resources


Yahoo's U.S. Civil Rights Movement Good for biography plus many other sites.

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee

J. Edgar Hoover and the American Civil Rights Movement

Academic Info: Civil Rights Movement This is a very good collection of sites in no order.

The March on Washington 1963 

Greensboro Sit-Ins: Launch of a Civil Rights Movement

Civil Rights Movement Veterans Contains photos, updates on veterans of the movement and much more.

We Shall Overcome Covers historic places.

Documenting the American South The Civil Rights Movement Good for Interviews

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News